I’m A Hot Mess Working On Getting Organized

So this weekend has been a purge kinda weekend, four closets, my car, tons of decorations, trip to Goodwill, Container Store, Crate and Barrel and TJMaxx and now I’m feeling like an expert.  Well not really.

During the purging I found an article from Good Housekeeping June 2010, yeap it was stuffed in a table just waiting to be read.  Made me start thinking.  What would it take to organize the rest of the house like I did these four closets.

So here is what I decided.

To feel relaxed and enjoy my home it needs to be organized.  One of the places I enjoy visiting the most is my Spare Mom’s home.  It’s clean, it’s organized, it’s inviting.  I may never reach her level, but I am on the right track.

I think you first have to ask yourself how your life would be different.

  • You will be calmer and more relaxed when not living in chaos.
  • You will save time because things will have a home and you won’t spend time looking for items.
  • If you are like me and being organized doesn’t come “naturally” you will be proud of your accomplishments as you “fix” each area.

What is your plan?  If you don’t have one, get one.  Put it on paper or you could just “pin it”, blog it or tweet it.  Whatever you need to do, do it.  Come on if I can make this happen anyone can.

31 Days To Decluttering Your House

Free House Cleaning Printout

Checklist For Cleaning

Process

Yearly Plan For Decluttering

7 Habits of Highly Organized People

40 Bags in 40 Days

– Jim Rohn –

I found the above quote at Operation Organize, she has some great printables.

Do you want to organize, but spending a ton of money isn’t appealing or maybe not even feasible?  Try these great ideas-

31 Days to Cheaply Organizing

Cereal Box Drawer Dividers

https://paperglueetc.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/85a3e-cerealboxdeskdrawerorganizerbeforeafter.jpg

Wrapping Paper?

Bathroom Cabinet?

cleaner holder

Do you love the over the door hanger, stole this I mean saw this from Laura(I have to admit I might have a little “girl crush”) over at I’m An Organized Junkie?  Writing this post took on a life of it’s own when I found the “Start Here” page at I’m An Organized Junkie.

Ball Caps?

I have to say going to The Container Store is like therapy for me.  I have never been able to figure it out, I can spend hours there and sometimes only spend $20.  I must admit yesterday’s trip cost me more than $20.

The extra large size Trash Stand Vehicle Litter Bin has a weighted bottom and grip strips to keep it upright and in place. Great for the passenger seat floor, or for the back of your minivan or SUV.

My favorite purchase was a floor litter bag like the one pictured above.  I must say I found some other fun stuff at Cargo Gear.  I will be ordering for sure.  Back to not spending a lot of money, I was so sad when I found this beauty over at Simply Keirste.

I thought this post would take weeks, I was hoping to post it by Feb. 1st and then I stumbled upon The Happy Housewife and her list.  She is my new hero.

I have started a book Cut The Clutter And Stow The Stuff,

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment