So Thankful……

I was driving in the car today, my “office on wheels” and I got to thinking about how many people and “situations” are on my prayer list right now…..I became a little overwhelmed thinking of the illness, the heart ache, the worries, the sadness that I have seen in the live’s of people I love and care for.  I then became thankful…..thankful that people trust me enough to share the worries with me, thankful that I know who to hand those worries to, thankful that I’m a place in life where I turn over so many things I use to hang onto and fret about.

I have watched from a distance as a relationship fell apart, a relationship that meant a lot to me.  I have had a hard time trying not “to fix it”, I tried so hard to keep my nose on my own face, but I still feel sad.  I have to keep reminding myself that people have boundaries and I have to respect the boundaries, it’s not easy…..did I mention I want to “fix it”?  I want to put it back together, I want to see that smile exchanged between two people that love and respect each other like no other.  I want to know that someone I love has a plan, a future, a partner in good times and bad……but what I want doesn’t matter…..not in the least…..did I mention hard? 

It’s hard to believe I was helping a single mom find a realtor a week ago and now she is unemployeed.  Really?  I can’t imagine that fear, oh yeah I can I’ve been there.  I remember sitting in the living room floor crying my eyes out not knowing how I would pay my rent and buy groceries, that was 17 years ago and somehow it worked out…..and her situation will work out also.  The difference is she is a Christian, I wasn’t back then…..I know she is leaning on her faith….I wonder what people do who have no faith.

I feel like everyone around me is “falling apart”, some things that are just part of growing old, some that are down right scarey…..my good friend Babz is battling cancer and she is fighting with everything she has.  I sometimes find myself feeling sorry for myself and then I think of Babz, reminds me not to sweat the “small stuff”.  She has her own “fan” Face Book page, would love for some of you to show her some love.

My favorite first cousin is so sad, her first born left for 96 days yesterday.  I am pretty sure it’s going to be a long 96 days, I’m so proud of Maddie though.  She is at a Young Life Camp and I can only imagine the lives that will be changed because of her love for Jesus and her “coolness”.  Please keep Maddie and her mother in your prayers.

Now do you see why I was feeling a little overwhelmed?  That’s a lot of praying if I say so myself.

Needless to say I needed a little “Girl Time, and boy did I get it.  I spent the weekend camping with “My Bestie.”  Now I’ve had people say we weren’t camping….really?  We were, I swear we were.  We even roasted marshmellows over an open fire, a fire that Mr. Wonderful made for us….but still a fire.  It was FUN, FUN, FUN!  I think, no actually I know the next “camping trip” will involve ADULTS ONLY…..just sayin’!

This is camping “Tammy & Michelle style”, don’t knock it until you try it.

Who says orange juice and roasted marshmellows don’t go together?

Yes that is an electric blanket you see, yes it was plugged in. 

I’m thankful I love my job, I have my health, I have the best friends ever, I have a husband who will make numerous trips to a “camp site” to make sure me and The Baby Girl had fun, I have a good life……I’m soooooo thankful!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, friends, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

