The First Born Was Showered With Nothing But Love

So in October a couple days after my birthday I was given THE BEST PRESENT I have ever received. I learned “The First Born” was going to be a Mom. I have been “that grandma” every day since. I applaud “The First Born” she has taken it all like a champ. I will say as soon as she told us she wanted a woodland creature shower it was GAME ON, but her words kept swimming around in my head….”I don’t want it real themey.”  Well exactly what does that mean?  Please take a peek on Instagram and look at #babyveda2015, some great pictures.

Instagram Sign I am sure there will be numerous post about “The Shower” but I really just want to share the overwhelming love and support I felt yesterday not just for a party to welcome Baby V but to shower my girl with love and encouragement. All I can say is “WOW, what a day.”  The gorgeous trunk in these pictures will be in Baby V’s room, a very special gift from her great grandparents. Thanks Nanny and Papaw! Fireplace & Gifts One of my favorite decorations was this sign I had made.  I had been stalking “The First Born’s” Pinterest and she had pinned this sign.  It was perfect.  The fireplace had a few critters and a large gold V.  Oh and the banners, I created the rag banner with left over fabric from the quilt I created for Baby V and a friend stenciled the other one-yes more critters.

Lena's Shower 046 Fireplace (3)

I had crafted, stalked Pinterest and shopped way too much on Etsy and I couldn’t believe the big day had finally arrived.  I have a wonderfully talented friend who was happy to jump in and help me create a quilt for Baby V.  I hope someday to be half as talented as Lynn so that I can pass along this wonderful craft to my girls.

Quilt (2)

I think my favorite find was the hedgehog clock “The First Born” really wanted.  I used him on the mantel and I can’t wait to see him hanging in Baby V’s nursery. Hedge hog clock Oh wait the hedgehog clock might just be number two because the greatest has to be this little t-shirt that I can’t wait to see Baby V and her big sister photographed in. Bully Shirt This shower was such a “team effort” and even today as I look at all the pictures I can’t believe it really turned out just like I imagined it.

Center Pieces Bird Houses Headband and Diaper Station  Lena's Shower 103

I heard “The Only Son” tell someone, “Mom didn’t freak out as bad as I thought she would.”  For the record there is NO WAY I would have pulled off yesterday without three men in  “The First Born’s” life that stepped up their game- her other half, my other half and her brother were TROOPERS.  My only regret from yesterday is I didn’t get enough pictures-including one with Baby V’s parents together.

Lena's Shower 074FriendsThe guest

I am sure this won’t be the last post about this wonderful day because I am still receiving pictures and I don’t think I will ever get tired of reliving the day. Did I mention one of “The First Born’s” besties surprised her all the way from L.A.?  I can’t wait to watch the influence that Baby V will have from her strong willed Momma and her friends. Lena's Shower 092 To the left in this picture is my Spare Mom, let’s all hope when we are a great grandmother we look as fantastic as Nanny.  Nanny made sure “The First Born” had homemade biscuits on the brunch menu, and I know a couple people have asked for the recipe.  This picture truly captures my heart and soul.  My Spare Mom is the best mom any girl could ask for and the love and devotion is never taken for granted.  My sister I can’t imagine going thru this crazy life without her by my side, I hope I am half the sister to her that she is to me.  “The First Born” no mother could be prouder of a child than I am of her.  She is going to be an amazing mom  and I can’t wait to watch Baby V become an outstanding human because of the love and nurturing she will receive from the four ladies in the picture above. Life has NEVER been better.

I haven’t joined many blog hops recently but I think this wonderful day is worth sharing, so head over to Shaken Together Life, Craft-O-Maniac and see what is going on.

Creativity-Unleashed-Party-Button

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Baby shower, crafts, decorating, DIY, family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Born Was Showered With Nothing But Love

  1. Spare mom says:

    Shell such heart warming comments about a wonderful day u made possible for your daughter. I know that Lena knows she is blessed to have u as a mom you will make an awesome Mimi I am also blessed to have u in my family u are a very giving and loving person. Thank u for all u have done for me. Love u enjoy the adventure ahead. Love,😘😀😄

    • Michelle says:

      Thank you. Lena and I are both lucky to have you. Actually the lucky one is my father who finally met the love of his life and somehow figured out to keep you around all these years. Love you!

Leave a comment