The Death Penalty

Anyone who knows me in real life knows I am a little over zealous about the news.  I think I like to try to figure out what makes people tick.  I’ve often wondered where is the turning point, what makes you kill your spouse instead of divorcing them, why would you kill your parents–is it money, anger at old hurts, are you nuts, HOW could you kill your child-this one I wonder about more than the others……just can’t get my head around that one. 

A little over a year ago there was a murder here in Cincinnati that really touched my heart.  Esme Kenney was a young girl with a bright future, two loving parents and a huge group of family and friends who loved her……her path crossed with a monster who knew nothing of love, and he killed her. 

“In our world, we have the right to live without having to look over our shoulders,” Hamilton County Coroner Dr. O’dell Owens said during a news conference Tuesday. “It is so sad that you cannot go out for a jog in certain neighborhoods without these things happening to you.”

On March 10th last year I wrote about “Evil People” when I heard Joe Deters give his opening statement in Kirkland’s murder trial he said the same thing, as a society we need to accept that there are just evil people.  I’ve heard and read a lot of people say Kirkland wasn’t always an animal and “something” had to have happened.  Yesterday when he asked (I’ve heard people say he begged he didn’t beg….those women he killed begged I’m sure….he simply asked….there is a difference) the jury to spare his life I wasn’t touched.  The one statement he made that I think may touch some of the jury was that his mother hated him.  Sorry buddy, but that doesn’t give you a license to kill.

“Sometimes pure evil just exists. Most people can’t get their arms around that,” Deters told a jury today, calling Kirkland a monster.

As many things do it’s made me thank God for where I am today.  I don’t know how it happens that someone can be on trial for murder especially of complete and total strangers that he just randomly picked, but I do know the hurt of having a mother who doesn’t love you.  I made horrible choices in my life, a lot of the time just looking for love.  When talking to a friend yesterday we both were surprised that he had never connected with SOMEONE, he didn’t have a grandparent, teacher, pastor someone who showed him what love was suppose to be. 

I’ve said before I got screwed in the Maternal Department, the more counseling I have the more I remember and the more I know that statement to be true……however I was so blessed with a maternal grandmother that truly was the best human being on the face of the earth, aunts, teachers, and even my friend’s mothers who saw what I was so starved for…..LOVE.  Isn’t that what we are all looking for? 

Today a jury of 12 will decide whether to sentence Anthony Kirkland to death, I hope they do.  The testimony has showed even when in prison he makes threats against women, the nurse at the prison etc.  What is the purpose in keeping him here?  It then takes me down the road if he ask for forgiveness will I be in heaven with him someday?  Of course the answer is yes, and I have to wonder if a man like Anthony Kirkland can find Jesus.  I know a lot of people “find” Jesus….but I mean for real.  I can say I hope so.  I hope God finds his way into a cell with Anthony Kirkland and that the black cold heart let’s him in. 

Esme Kenney’s family is going to continue to work to make sure people like Anthony Kirkland are taken off the streets, yesterday a reporter said a family friend told him that at Esme’s memorial a friend said, “Esme can’t be dead, she was going to change the world.”  She is changing the world.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Esme Kenney, faith, family, life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

