Tempt My Tummy Tuesday

This year I’ve made it a point to try new recipes you can see my list that I plan on trying right here, I still need a few so don’t hestitate to point me to your favorite recipes.  I’m looking for things that the whole family will like, which isn’t always easy.  We recently tried a few and I learned the hard way that just because something “sounds” good it might not be what the family wants.

Blue Cheese Buffalo Chicken was not a favorite at our house.  I thought it was ok, The Baby Girl refused it, Mr. Wonderful wouldn’t give it a grade but requested it not find it’s way to our table again.  However, I made Hamburger and Macaroni this weekend and I thought for a minute Mr. Wonderful was going to give it an A, but it got a B+.  We all loved it and it was super simple, it will find it’s way to our table again.

Hamburger and Macaroni Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped (or mixed chopped green onion greens and yellow onion)
  • Olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vegesal or other seasoned salt
  • Dash crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1 large can (28 oz) of diced tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 2 cups uncooked macaroni (use rice pasta for wheat-free version)

Method

1 Get a large pot of hot water heating and begin cooking the macaroni as per the directions on the macaroni package.

2 In a skillet, brown the ground beef in a tablespoon of olive oil on high heat. Stir only infrequently so that the ground beef has an opportunity to brown.

3 In a large skillet, sauté chopped onion with a tablespoon of olive oil on medium high heat. Add the ground beef and lower the heat to medium. Add a dash of crushed red pepper. Add Vegesal or other seasoned salt. Add celery seed. Add canned tomatoes. Add Worcestershire sauce. Bring to a simmer and let simmer for 5 minutes. Mix in the drained and cooked macaroni and parsley. Simmer for another 5 minutes.

Serves 4. 

Blessed with Grace

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday

  1. That buffalo chicken looks great as well as the hamburger and macaroni. Thanks for linking your post to TMTT.

  2. jhoop says:

    First of all there is not ONE but TWO vegetables on that plate.

    Second, no macaroni and cheese or some other pasta?

    I can’t live like that. I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

