Someone’s Last Christmas

Today The Baby Girl and I wrapped presents for a local hospice, and it really got me thinking.  What would you do differently if you knew this was your last Christmas?  Would you spend more or less, would you wrap your gifts or continue to throw them in a gift bag, would you slow down and remember the reason we celebrate, would you create special memories for your family and friends?  How many Christmas cards would you mail if you knew it was your last chance to say, “Merry Christmas.” 

I prayed as I wrapped each gift that whomever opened the gift would know Christ and that they would leave this world with peace.  I prayed that as The Baby Girl wrapped each gift she was learning that we really do get back from this world what we give. 

Of course it also got me thinking, what would I do differently?  I have thought about it all day.  I can’t think of one thing I would do differently if I thought this was my last Christmas, if you can’t say that then do whatever is on your heart. 

In the last two days I’ve had some conversations centered around elderly ladies that have a pretty poor quality of life.  I have been so sad for these two ladies, one who has a family and one who doesn’t.  I hate to judge, but how does a family member talk about how much better someone’s life would be if they could just have someone put a pillow over their head?  What is wrong with this world.  Instead of looking for a way to improve someone’s quality of life sit around and complain about them being here.  Really?

Ok I can’t end this post with such doom and gloom.  I have to get myself in a different state of mind.  You can’t change stupid.

Today The First Born and Scot with one T came over and got Christmas ornaments.  It got me in the mood for Christmas so how about we talk about Christmas?

How about the cutest handmade ornament that I think I’ve seen so far this year?  You ready for just plain stinkin’ cute?

You can make it, I promise.  Wait until you go here and find out what it’s made with. 

How about the cutest wreath I’ve seen.  Love these colors.

Stop by right here and let this blogger know how wowed you are.

Be kind to someone this week, maybe even someone you don’t know.  I promise you if you stop by your local grocery store pick up a $5.99 bouquet of flowers and pull up to a local nursing home there is someone in that nursing home that has NO ONE that would smile from ear to ear if a bouquet of flowers showed up in their room.  The receptionist will know just the right person, just try it.

 

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Christmas, crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Someone’s Last Christmas

  1. Lanie says:

    What a beautiful thing you and the Baby Girl did today. Your post really touched me. My mother died on Oct. 12 in Hospice care at my sister’s home. This will be a different year as far as the holidays go at my house. More making memories and cookies, less spending and stressing. More love and less toys. The Hospice nurses commended my sister for keeping my mother at home. They said hardly anyone does that anymore. Sad isn’t it?

    I love your idea with the bouquet of flowers. I think I might do this with my daughters.

    Blessings to you and your family! ~Lanie

  2. jhoop says:

    You always make me think deeper than I want to, but that’s what I love about you. Lyss is lucky to have you. You are teaching her lessons that you can’t learn in school. You are teaching her to love without knowing, to give without getting, to be and just be happy to be.

    Love ya,

  3. Katie says:

    Wow…it hurts my heart to think that it is some people’s last Christmas. The thing is that we never know when it could be our last Christmas with our loved ones.Wow….I need some time to let that sink in.

    That ornament and that wreath are both darling! Both are now on my “to-do” list!

  4. Lanie says:

    I linked to this post in my Friday Favorites.

Leave a Reply

