Thanksgiving Is On My Mind….

I have Thanksgiving on my mind, well actually I have my Thanksgiving table on my mind.  For years I have wanted an awesome table for Thanksgiving but it never seems to happen, this year it is going to.  I have a little problem though…I can’t decide which dishes to use…..I thought this would be a great post for Homemaker Monday, I’m sure some of the talented ladies from this get together will have ideas and suggestions…I need them!

dscf69891

dscf69212

The first set I have never used, they are a thrift store find and you can see more about them here.  The second set if I use them I will use only the red pieces. 

I decided to try to get some ideas from the internet and boy was I overwhelmed.

I love these centerpiece ideas.  I am tempted to try to spray paint little pumpkins…….I think white pumpkins with a little brown stain…….there are more ideas right here…..

Fall candles

Pumpkin candleholder

I think this little book will find it’s way on my table somehow, someway….I can imagine the eye rolls, but if I’m not entertaining those grown children of mine things get a little boring.

thankful book

I would love your ideas, suggestions for other places to look for ideas.  I’ll be heading out to the thrift store today to find treasures for my table.  Can you believe Thanksgiving will be here before we know it?

 

 

 

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in decorating, holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thanksgiving Is On My Mind….

  1. jhoop says:

    How can Thanksgiving be on your mind already. I still have Halloween candy stuck to my teeth. You are so funny. I love the fancy, schmancy dishes, I would go with those. I don’t have to make those kind of decisions because the one and only time I cooked a turkey I left the bag of guts inside of it.
    Who knew they put that stuff in there? Then you have to stick your hand inside that dead bird to get it out???? That is not happening for me.

  2. knottywitch says:

    Ok – I’m with you on the thinking of Thanksgiving already. Mostly, becuase our guests are already asking about the menu. We’re sort of the neighborhood kitchen – but everyone contributes a little something, and Dh & I cook 🙂 Any who – I love both sets of dishes, so I’m no help there.
    I do however have a turkey funny for ya – the first time DD cooked a whole turkey on her own, she donned her gloves (knew there was “stuff” in it) and reached in…then she calls to me – “Mom, how can you tell if the turkey was a boy?” Me, “What? I don’t know”
    DD – “Well, I think this one was a boy!” I turn to see her holding the neck in her hand with this look on her face that said it all. I almost didn’t want to let her off the hook.But, I did – “honey, that’s the *neck*” DD – “well, why would they put that in there?!”

  3. Never to early to be thinking about Thanksgiving. I started thinking about my menu already.
    Geri

  4. Lisa says:

    One of the best sources is to go to betweennapsontheporch.blogspot.com. Every Thursday she has tablescape Thursday and she gets probably 70 responses of people who all decorate their tables beautifully. Very creative and most not expensive. I like what you’re thinking and my vote is the red! Electric! Use reds, browns, oranges and creams in your centerpiece- berries, leaves, nuts, the pumpkins you talked about painting. You can get very current by using a burlap runner/place mats. Just rough, raw-edged burlap. Tie your napkins with jute for an easy napkin “ring”. The old dishes are sweet- if you want it old-fashioned.
    I’m in the mood for a little heat with that red!
    Lastly- set the table the day before. The problem is we get up early and cook and cook and cook and finally run out of time to set the table! Even with helpers! Years ago I went to the door of a stranger to ask a question and I could see her dining room fully decorated for Easter. That was 2 days away. It was perfect! Lesson learned. Good luck and Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Lisa says:

    Funny! I just clicked on your links and saw burlap and jute. I’m so unoriginal!!!

  6. Pingback: Tackle It Tuesday « Paper Glue Etc.

  7. Melissa says:

    We’re so glad you like our Thanksgiving centerpiece ideas =) Feel free to share any ideas you have, too! Thanks for the link.

    P.S. – It’s never to early to start thinking about Thanksgiving. I’ve already discovered the dessert I’m making this year…pumpkin cheesecake brownies!! I made them a few weeks ago and they were delicious. Find the recipe here: http://www.howtoeatacupcake.net/2009/10/pumpkin-spice-cheesecake-brownies.html

  8. Pingback: Name Holder Ideas…. « Paper Glue Etc.

Leave a Reply

