Just Say No

Have the courage to say no. Have the courage to face the truth. Do the right thing because it is right. These are the magic keys to living your life with integrity.” 

 W. Clement Stone quotes

DSC00217-1

Sometimes being a parent is just down right tough.  This week I had to tell my “Mr. Wonderful” or as his sister’s call him “Precious” NO and I hated it.  Look at that face can you imagine telling him no?  He is a great kid, works, goes to school full-time and I wish I could have just drove to the ATM and said, “Here it is.”  I just couldn’t. 

I have a hard time saying NO to any of them.  I work on it and wonder if it’ll ever feel “ok”. 

Tomorrow “The First Born” leaves for her vacation.  She is going to Florida with her boyfriend.  She said it was ok to use the boyfriend word, you know she has some strong boundaries.  I’m taking them to the airport in the morning.  I already asked if I could take pictures the answer is NO.  I quote, “If I wanted to be blogged about I’d start my own blog.” 

I wish I would have just said NO at Parkers last night, I’m pretty sure I failed Weigh Watchers this week.  The Happy Hour at Parkers was awesome though. 

I will be at Krogers in West Chester this weekend trying to register walkers for The Alzheimer’s Walk.  I sure hope none of them say NO.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Say No

  1. amber says:

    LOL … “no” is a good word. Make friends with it and life will be a lot easier. I know because I used to never be able to say it at all and had to learn the hard way.

  2. Andi @udandi says:

    a birthday a few years a ago I announced to my family that I would be saying no more and doing more for myself. I’m the youngest and always have to mold myself around my siblings and their families. It’s been a tough road! Good luck!

  3. jhoop says:

    I never wanted to tell my kids no and man do they hate it when I do it now. I’ll admit that I don’t like to tell them no at all, but sometimes there is no other way. Maybe had I used the word earlier in their lives, and more often things would be different but, “If its and buts were candy and nuts, everday would be Christmas.”

    Love ya,

    jhoop

  4. I am horrible at saying no to people. I always over extend myself . It’s something I have been working on this year. I’ve never been good at it, and I hate doing it, but darn it if it doesn’t feel good to have more free time!

Leave a Reply

