I Can’t Resist

Well I’m a day late hopefully not anything short for my two favorite blog parties.  I sometimes pick one or the other, but today for many reasons I think I can do both.  You see I’m working on A Beautiful Life daily and that daily work sometimes gets me hooked on this or that so check out what everyone’s Hooked On.

This week I had a lot to ponder….I shared a post this week about reflecting on Baby James, I had a lunch date with The First Born and some really good thoughts, Mr. Perfect changing colleges and not understanding why I would have liked to have been part of the decision, The Baby Girl and deep thoughts, a challenging week at work, a wonderful man that I love having by my side hence the name Mr. Wonderful.

A Beautiful Life

I’m 42 years old I have many goals I am working on, I have a few that will take money and time so those I attempt inch by inch.  Speaking of inches my most recent goal has me “Hooked on Weight Watchers“. 

The Baby Girl and I weighed in on Monday….drum roll please….Baby Girl 4 pounds, Momma 5.6 pounds.  I would love it if you could leave encouragement for The Baby Girl we are working on a weight loss journal and it’d be great to include your thoughts.  Found a great website this week Hungry Girl.  I found a couple of good recipes and wrote about them this week here.  

Last night driving home from a friend’s house, The Baby Girl needed to talk about her “paternal unit”.  I assume this need came from seeing a dad in action with his kids.  The normalcy of a man parenting his boys, it hurt my girls heart.  We talked, she remembers much, I’m thankful.  Our conversation ends as all of these conversations do, me assuring her just how lovable she is.  Her asking if her “paternal unit” gets “better” will he call her.  I had to nod my head so she didn’t know I was crying. 

I think about a 10 year old girl who has body image issues from weight and a “paternal unit” that is absent from her life.  I can’t let my thoughts linger too much on what she doesn’t have, it makes me angry.  I keep my focus and her focus on what she does have.  She has a mom and a daddy (you see DNA has nothing to do with parenting) that over protect, shelter, spoil and love, but she wants her “paternal unit” to be a parent.  I can’t make that happen.  I can encourage her in school, sit through dance class every week, share my love of papercrafts with her, make sure she learns about her Heavenly Father, teach her to be the friend that she wants others to be to her.  I can bite my toungue until it hurts when she paints the “paternal unit” into something he’s not.  She will NEVER hear me say a bad word about him, she will always know I support her having a relationship with him.  I will not be made out to be the bad guy someday in the future.  I won’t do to her what is done to my stepchildren everyday of their lives.

I found first day of school pictures from last year and realized how much The Baby Girl has matured over a years time.  I was shocked, and yes I had a little cry.  The picture below is 4th grade.

DSCF6136

I don’t know if it’s the hair or the attitude but she has really matured.

DSCF9003-1

I don’t have any pictures from my lunch date with The First Born this week, I was on my best behavior and whipping out the camera might have ended the lunch real quick.  I did have lunch with her and met a friend of hers.  I know on occassion they read my blog so I’ll not share anything other then I think they both have great taste!  I’ll surely get in trouble for sharing even this little bit.  The First Born has some pretty strict boundaries.  Have I mentioned lately how bright, creative, and beautiful she is?  In a couple of weeks I’ll be worrying about her like she is five, she is going on vacation.

DSCF8730

I found a blog today that makes me really question am I doing enough to make a difference in this crazy world we live in.  I read the words of this 20ish young lady and I’m like wait how do you have that passion at such a young age?  Read her blog, pray for her, spread the word about her work or maybe you’ll be lead to do what I did send her a check.  I’m really in awe.

Ok, speaking of a Beautiful Life I have to go fight encourage The Baby Girl to clean her room.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in cooking, family, grief, infant loss, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Can’t Resist

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today… you brightened mine!

    What a sweet post — you are so right, before you know it your divine little miss will be grown so be careful and not blink!!

    TTFN~~ Claudia ♥ ♥

  2. jhoop says:

    Wooo Hoooo Hoooooo!!!! You guys are the BOMB!! Next week is all yours Lyss. Show your Mom how to throw down some weight. You two are lucky to have each other to share something this awesome with. Keep up the GREAT work!!

    Love ya,

  3. Meghan says:

    Michelle,

    I am SO glad that you were as affected by Katie’s blog as I was. I don’t know how many posts you read, but did you see the one where her dad wanted to buy her a new toilet seat….She didnt have one at all…..and she looked at him as if “he had three heads” and asked if he knew how many children she could feed for the cost of a toilet seat. Wow….this certainly put my “must have” pedicure into perspective.

    This is an incredible woman…..and at the age of 20. Wow. I will be writing a check. And I will continue to write checks. I seriously cannot think of a more worthy cause.

    I have loved getting to “know” you on the BF! Hope you don’t mind that I am adding you to my blog roll!

  4. Susan from PA says:

    Hi Michelle,
    I have been thankful for you on the blog frog, and have started to read your blog. You are awesome, and keep up the great support with WW and your daughter. I’m not into nasty, and I am pulling away from blog frog because it seems to be a forum for bashing each other….how sad.
    Anywho…hope you know that I am a new follower. You seem like an wonderful, caring person and mom.

  5. Your girls are just gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Kristin says:

    I didn’t read your entire post but what hit me was your daughter is struggling with her “parental” figure. I am a product of a divorced family – I have 2 younger sisters – we are all 3 years apart. When my parents split up, my youngest sister was 6 and it broke my heart to see her look at every passing car trying to find her “daddy”. He would come around when he had a “girlfriend”. I was 16 at the time and saw through the facade. I knew what an a$$ he was but my sisters couldn’t. My mom was awesome and really didn’t say anything negative about him, just told us the truth and eventually we all saw him for what he was worth. It still hurts, and I’m 34. I was daddy’s little girl. The “boy” of the family. It hurt when one of my good friends got married, I had to leave the room during the daughter/ daddy dance. It is hard and as a mom, you can only love harder. My middle sister had a weight issue too. I think it all changed when she got into high school. She had always been involved in dance but it wasn’t until high school, she wanted to be on the dance team – but she was over the weight limit and because she wanted it so much, she lost it. I don’t think she did it the healthy way but she did it. Kudos for you too for doing it together.

    Well I will try to come back from time to time. I am a single mom and time is limited. I was trying to find out how to follow you but since I am new to the blog world, I can’t figure it out! lol

    Well good luck on your weight loss – I need to get there myself. Keep telling myself that I am going back to the gym. I think I might go tomorrow.

    Sorry so long, just wanted to share my “experience”.

    Kristin

  7. Katie says:

    Wow, your baby girl sure has grown up alot in a year! Congrats to you and her for your losses! Tell your baby girl that 4 pounds is a huge accomplishment!!! I was an overweight little girl too and I remember how little self esteem I had because all of my friends were tiny. Have you guys thought about measuring yourself too? A lot of times people lose inches even when they aren’t losing pounds! They may give you a little extra motivation!!

  8. Toni says:

    Hi,
    I came across your site somehow because of your paris room post. Now I can’t find your post… anyway, did you ever get your room finished? If so email me photos to be featured on our site designdazzle.com. If you need an eiffel tower decal, we sell that too:)

Leave a Reply

