Food, Friends, Family and Faith

Well three days into mine and The Baby Girl’s weight loss program and I’m exhausted.  If you know The Baby Girl you know she obsesses.  She is lovingly referred to as “Rainman” by all of us.  She is keeping a perfect tracker, she is measuring her water to make sure she gets 8-8oz glasses.  She is keeping track of activity points.  She is making me look like a Weight Watchers failure.

I’ve learned some things this week about our eating habits.  I didn’t teach The Baby Girl portion control.  I wonder how many of you have realistic ideas about portions.  I decided to help The Baby Girl with portion distortion.

  • Your fist is about the same size as one cup of fruit or pasta
  • Your thumb (tip to base) is the size of one ounce of meat or cheese
  • Your palm (minus fingers) equals three ounces of meat, fish, or poultry
  • Your cupped hand equals one to two ounces of nuts or pretzels

I learned that The Baby Girl doesn’t drink a lot of liquids.  I think she is struggling with that the most. 

I learned that I usually buy The Baby Girl a snack when we are checking out at a store. 

I learned that you can go to the movies and not eat popcorn (small no butter 11 pts), we snuck in apple slices (1 pt) and Peppermint Patties (3 pts.) today.  I had never snuck snacks in to the movie theater before.  We both felt like rebels.

This week I had some people leave some pretty nasty comments about The Baby Girl and a weight loss program.  First of all I’d like to politely tell you it’s really none of your business, but with the hope that another mom might see this and need it I’ll explain.  The Baby Girl has been strugging with weight for a few years.  The last year has been the worst, 25 lbs. gained in a year.  I could make a lot of excuses, but I’m not feeling like it matters at this point.  We are where we are.  We had an appointment last Friday for her yearly asthma check up and her doctor told us both flat out, time to lose weight.  Not maintain, lose weight.  If any of you feel you would like to argue with our pediatrician or share your snarky comments with him feel free to email me at paperglueetc@yahoo.com and I’ll pass the message along. 

DSCF9008

Isn’t she beautiful?  We have had many talks this week about health, weight, weight loss, triggers that make us eat, and all the shopping trips we’ll be going on as we take this journey together.  I love this girl with all my heart and together we are going to beome “Lean and Mean”. 

DSCF9004

A day spent at a public pool will sure make you either love yourself or hate yourself.  I saw young and old with weight issues.  I saw folks in bikinis that had no business in bikinis.  I must say not one single Speedo.  I never realized that healthy eating is really hard at these type of places.  For the record large soft pretzel (without cheese) 5.5 points.

I have faith in The Baby Girl and I, I know we’ll have peaks and valleys.  I know some days I’ll feel like giving up and some days she’ll want to throw in the towel.  Together we’ll continue. 

I wonder how her “friends” will help or hinder the process when school starts on Monday.  A friend of mine told me that knowing The Baby Girl she’ll be educating the kids about food and fitness before we know it. 

This week our time and energy has been spent on learning new habits, next week we kick up the fitness.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food, Friends, Family and Faith

  1. Amy says:

    What an awesome pool – and your kid is gorgeous!

  2. Stone Fox says:

    yes. yes, she is beautiful. she has a beautiful smile, and a mischevious sparkle in her eyes.

    good for you that you are doing this with her. teaching her by example to love herself by respecting her mind AND her body is a gift that will never leave her.

Leave a Reply

