Rain, The Beach and My Girl

Today was a day that will be etched in my brain for a long time.  I had the absolute joy of spending eight hours with The Baby Girl at The Beach.  The weather man almost stole this joy from me, we went in spite of a horrible weather report.  I’ll post pics later in the week. I’m snuggled on the couch and the camera is in the car. 

Imagine a 10 year old on a diet at a waterpark.  We learned some things, big soft pretzels 5.5 points-we decided to split one.  At the end of the day we ordered a big fat pickle 0 points, they were out of them.  We settled for a hot dog, 8 points.  The Baby Girl had exercised for eight hours, I told her not to worry about it.  Thank God for activity points.

I keep hoping that we both lose weight this week, The Baby Girl is trying so hard.  We went to Subway for dinner and she insisted cheese was a have-to.  Old habits are hard to break, but she is doing fantastic.  I am so very proud of her. 

Tomorrow is a Red’s Game, another challenge.  We’ll face it together.

I’ve decided that each week I will try a recipe that is outside “our” comfort zone.  This weeks recipe will be.

Zucchini Fries

 
Value: 2
Servings:  4
Preparation Time:  7 min
Cooking Time:  12 min
Level of Difficulty:  Easy

These fast-food fry knock-offs are not just tasty—they’re good for you, too. Swap any summer squash for the zucchini and try different seasoning mixes. 

Ingredients

 
  4 spray(s) olive oil cooking spray
  1 tsp Italian seasoning
  1 1/2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  3/4 tsp table salt
  3/4 cup(s) dried bread crumbs, panko-variety suggested
  2 medium zucchini, about 7-inches each, cut into 4 chunks, then each chunk halved
  2 large egg white(s), whipped until frothy (almost soft peaks)

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 425ºF. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray. In a small bowl, mix together Italian seasoning, flour and salt. Place bread crumbs in another small bowl.
  • Dredge a zucchini fry in flour mixture and then dip into egg whites; dredge in bread crumbs. Place coated zucchini on prepared baking sheet and repeat with remaining ingredients; liberally coat with cooking spray.
  • Roast, turning once, until desired crispness, about 12 minutes. Yields about 8 fries per serving.

We’ll be trying these tomorrow, after 8 point hotdog at the Red’s Game.

The weatherman was just a few hours off, storming to beat the band right now.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rain, The Beach and My Girl

  1. Sara says:

    Good luck to you and your girl. I know how hard “dieting” is, but you are doing the right thing! WW is my favorite way to go when trying to lose weight – good luck!!

  2. jhoop says:

    Have you ever had sweet potato fries? I think they are healthy!? I had them at a bbq rib place and they are pretty good. It’s weird, you see french fries, you eat french fries………..it tastes like a sweet potato. It really plays with your mind.

  3. generationsgoneby says:

    Instead of a ballpark hotdog, could you sneak her in some fun lower point snacks? You could get a lot of food in for 8 points. Then she could eat throughout then entire game and still probably not eat all of it.

  4. Katie says:

    So glad you had a good time together. And so proud of her for being such a good little dieter. Thanks for sharing this recipe! Sounds good!

  5. Michelle says:

    Ok, God must be looking out for us. No baseball game because of weather, going to the movies sneaking in snacks!

  6. Michelle says:

    Could be whatcha thinking?

  7. alexa says:

    I was just on the My Charming Kids blog frog & couldn’t help but browsing the “blog hopping & nasty comments” post & read your post on it, I just wanted to send you a high 5 & agree 100% with you! I hope all of this stops!

    Have a great weekend:) And tell your girlie she is BEAUTIFUL!

  8. Amanda says:

    Hi Michelle…. I am sorry to be visiting you for the first time under such critical circumstances.

    I read what you said, that someone made a comment about your daughter…and it just about broke my heart. I am just SO sad that you and your beautiful family were attacked.

    Please know that I am going to be praying for your and your family and hope there is a ‘hedge of protection’ around you… that these comments just won’t get in… that people will come here and see how neat it is and want to leave positive and sweet comments.

    Again… I am SO sorry that you were attacked.

    I hope this all stops soon… I know how draining it has been on me. And I’m not even that involved!

    Blessings to you-
    Amanda

  9. Melissa says:

    so sorry to hear about the personal attack on your daughter, and i wanted to send you my support. what a terrible thing to experience, but i wanted you to know that she is a beautiful girl and her happiness shines through in all of the pictures, a direct reflection of you.

    i think it is great what you are doing together. want to come and kick me in the butt and get me on board?

    the preteen time for most girls is a terrible time, remember them? ugh. i can only tell you how fortunate she is to have a mom that loves her unconditionally and tells her she is beautiful. i had that in my mom, and it was what got me through some days. we can only promise her that on the other side, appearance doesn’t even matter.

    kudos to you for sticking up for your family. for getting your family healthy and making it fun. for not letting them chew you up and spit you out.

    you are in my thoughts and prayers tonight.

  10. Pingback: Healthy or Bust « Paper Glue Etc.

Leave a Reply

