Feeling So Blessed…

Today was Melda’s shower at church.  In case you missed who Melda is please see here.  I can not begin to explain how awesome the women at Winton Road First Church of God really are.  I have to say I never worried about not having gifts for Melda because my church just wouldn’t let that happen.  I knew they would give, but I was overwhelmed when I looked at the counter and saw the amount of stuff we had donated for her.  God is really awesome.  The verse Matthew 25:40 ran thru my head all day, and it continues to.  I can’t ever just do a little though so I know I can’t just send Melda these gifts and then forget about her.  I don’t know what I will do, but I know I’ll do something.  I was touched that two ladies thought of her grandchildren, one put koolaid in a pitcher for her and the other bought brownie mix to go with a cake pan. 

We had great cake and cheese cake and then got to work.  We wrapped the gifts, I wondered out loud if Melda had ever received a wrapped gift.  I think after watching Amber’s video and hearing her and Cathy talk about the six mission trips they have taken to Pine Ridge I know this is not the last thing I will do for the people of Pine Ridge.

Matthew 25:40

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

By the time we left we decided to do some personal items for Melda, did I mention these ladies are awesome?

Today in church something made me think about non-believers.  I’ve always said I can understand people who question God, I’ve even

had my own doubts at times in life.  Here is how I see it though, if the non-believer is wrong they have A LOT to lose-hell is an ugly ugly place.  However, as a Christian if I’m the one that is wrong and I die and there is no heaven, what have I lost?  The bible and the God that I serve makes me a much better person then I was before I became a believer.  My God puts things on my heart like Melda, my God loves me even when I am not very lovable.  I believe 100% that when I leave this crazy insane world I will hear the gates of heaven close behind me, I’m thankful for that faith. 

I have a list of questions that I want to ask God someday, it’s all of those “what the heck were you thinking” questions.  You know the ones-I think we all have “the list”.

I have some things I’m struggling with and when I struggle I always try to focus on folks who have a lot more going on then I do, like a mother who made the loving decision to place her infant son for adoption, or how about the family that is checking into a hospital to start the delivery of a baby with an uncertain future, or how about a 34 year old mother whose facing the nightmare of a cancer relapse.  Pray for these folks.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, friends, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

