Jon and Kate Minus One

I had thought earlier today, “I am a blog slacker, and I need to do a blog post.”  I was trying to decide do I do a food post, I’ve been thinking a lot about food quirks.  Do you peanut butter sandwiches with chili?  I do and I love it.  Have you ever had a hot dog sandwich?  You might ask what the heck is a hot dog sandwich, it’s hot dogs sliced long ways, with onions and miracle whip…don’t yuck it until you’ve tried it. 

Then I thought maybe I should do a post about Memorial Day.  Isn’t freedom a wonderful thing?  I wondered how The Maupin Family spent Memorial Day. 

I even thought about doing a post about our Pool Drama that consumed our entire weekend.

However, at 9 p.m. tonight I knew without a doubt I was going to do a blog post about Jon and Kate Plus Eight.  Wowza, how depressing.  I know a thing or two about a marriage falling apart.  It was tearing my heart out to see it happen on national t.v.  I can’t imagine Kate’s heartache or her fear.  It was obvious tonight that Jon has checked out, I found it humorous he wanted to say his mother says life is all about choices.  Grow up Jon.  You choose to bring eight children into this world, now raise them.  I watched the show with The Baby Girl and usually we laugh and giggle and tonight she just looked so confused.  The First Born normally is a huge Jon and Kate fan she decided not to watch the show tonight.  She finds it creepy that they are filming the breakdown of their marriage and their kids will see it someday.  I find it creepy that Jon is being so nonchalant about what a divorce is going to do to his kids.

I am going to add Jon and Kate to my prayer list, I know better then anyone that a marriage can be saved even when it’s already fallen apart.  Kate made the comment that the problems have been going on for about six months, hopefully they are getting professional help.  I don’t know any child that isn’t affected by a divorce regardless of how well it’s “handled”. 

So I’m afraid Kate might be flying solo, but I believe she will do just fine.  Don’t get me wrong I think she is a control freak, but unfortunately I can understand that behavior.  When you don’t have a partner that is 100% an adult you start to treat them like a child and I think Jon’s recent behavior has showed how immature he is.  Adultery is cowardly.

I doubt I will let The Baby Girl watch Jon and Kate Plus Eight for awhile and I’m not even sure I’ll watch it.  Tonight I felt like I was watching a train crash.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in divorce, life, marriage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jon and Kate Minus One

  1. amberschmidt says:

    I totally and completely agree with you. After the show was over I had to get out of bed and blog about it and PRAY. My heart just breaks and I cried through most of the show. Seeing Kate took me back about 8 months and I just want to tell her that you CAN DO THIS…. no matter HOW checked out Jon is… this marriage CAN be saved! Sigh…

  2. jhoop says:

    I actually cried. Natalie said “Mom, it’s o.k” It just tore me up for some reason. I have no idea why but for some reason I cannot imagine them getting divorced I need a hobby, I guess, but I am all about this “t.v. family.” Jeff hates it. Of course Kate is a controlling be atch and Jon was driven to cheat (according to Mr. Hooper). It was very depressing to watch and the paparazzi was out of control crazy. There has to be some celebrity out there, half-dressed, drunk, smoking something with the same sex that is waaaay more interesting than stalking this family that is obviously suffering. I am afraid to see how this is going to play out but I will watch and just hope and pray for the best.

  3. Pam says:

    oh wow. i am not a jon & kate watcher. we don’t even have cable tv. i’ve seen it in hotels but not much. i was always intrigued to watch it. i was drawn by your title, and wondered what was up. i had no clue. heartbreaking. having been through the adultry and divorce and living out how it has effected my 6 kids, i can’t imagine doing it on tv. i am adding them to my prayer list too. thanks for the news. i think.

  4. Katie says:

    I couldn’t even watch it last night. It really is horrible what is happening to their family. I am praying for them too.

  5. Sara says:

    It was terribly sad to watch, wasn’t it? I too felt that Jon has completely checked out – much like my first husband acted. Notice how he says at one point that he loves his kids and he loves his family. He apologizes to his family. No mention of Kate – at all.

    I agree – she isn’t perfect either. But watching this play out is truly painful.

Leave a Reply

