Dry Cleaning

My dry cleaning wasn’t ready yesterday and I wanted to wear my new green jacket today, I was not happy.  I had to get up 30 minutes earlier today to go and get my dry cleaning, I was not happy.  Got the jacket put it on and started my day, I still wasn’t happy.

I had a fully planned day with appointments every two hours, all but two appointments cancelled and yeap you got it I wasn’t happy.

I was coordinating a new case today and talked to the clients daughter today, she was struggling.  I guess you could say she wasn’t happy.  We started talking early this morning and several phone calls later I felt like I knew her.  Towards the end of the day she shared that she was sorry she wasn’t much help but she had a lot on her plate.  I told her I would pray for her, and she went on to tell me that her father is actively dying, her sister is actively dying as in any day, and this past week her husband faced a life and death medical problem.  Are you kidding me?

Remember the dry cleaning, yeah me neither.

I found out around 6 p.m. tonight that my “Spare Mom” is in the hospital.  I’m conflicted about what to do.  I at first was going to jump in the car and head south, but now I’m trying to wait it out and see what happens.  My sisters have the situation under control, but I would still like to be there.  I feel really far away from all of them and I don’t like it.

dscf8166

I love my “Spare Mom” like no other.  I’ve said before she is going straight to heaven, she is married to a grouch, the mother of 3, the stepmother of 3, the Nanny to 18 here on earth and 1 in heaven, and she keeps it all straight.  She is the reason we all get birthday cards, she is the reason we have Christmas, she is the reason that they drive to Cincinnati for a few hours to see us, she is the reason we are a family.  I hate knowing she is in pain and I’m sure scared.  She has faith in God and I’m sure she is clinging to that right now.  I’m waiting for news to see if I head south.

To think I actually had myself in a tailspin over dry cleaning today makes me ashamed. 

I’m reminded that…..

As your faith is strengthened you will find that there is no longer the need to have a sense of control, that things will flow as they will, and that you will flow with them, to your great delight and benefit. ~Emmanuel
About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, grief, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dry Cleaning

  1. jhoop says:

    Don’t you hate it when you get slapped in the face with a reality check??!! I should be in bed but I’m afraid to go to sleep only to be awakened by the phone call in the middle of the nite. “Is this Jill Hooper?” “Yes” “Is your son Alex Hooper?” “Yes. Please tell me he’s not dead.” “No maam he’s not dead.” “Are you sure he’s not dead, please tell me right now if he is dead so I don’t have to wait for you to tell me when I get there.” “No maam he’s not dead but we need you to pick him up at the Fairfield Police Department. He was arrested for OVI (dui). “Thank you, I’ll be right there.”

    KILL ME NOW

Leave a Reply

