It’s Crazy Really

I teach Junior Church once a month and I’m always at amazed at how much “they” actually teach me.  I couldn’t figure out a lesson for today and I was just not prepared.  I usually really enjoy planning my lesson and making a fun treat, but this weekend I think because I was so busy with our family plans I just let my class slip thru the cracks.  Thank God I have a great assistant and some helpful ladies at church because they helped me plan something in five minutes.  We decided to use the Resurrection Eggs, you can see a great post about them here

We hid the eggs and the kids hunted.  They were instructed to only find one egg and then help a friend if they found a second egg.  It was so cute.  We settled back in the classroom and I started having them open an egg at a time.  The first egg had a donkey, we talked about how the donkey had been given freely.  The next egg was a leather strip, we talked about the beating Jesus endured.  Each egg held a symbol and we talked about Jesus and what today meant.  We were probably half way thru when we got to the egg that had three nails, and I said to this class of 1st and 2nd graders, “Isn’t it amazing that He willingly got on the cross and let them drive those nails into him?  Isn’t it just amazing.”  You could see their little minds thinking about it and then a few started to talk, I looked over and one child had his hand raised.  He said, “Michelle, if you think about it it’s crazy, really crazy.”  Have truer words ever been spoken?  I was sad that I was going to miss the sermon today, but let me tell you this touched me more then any sermon.  A child had thought about what Jesus did for him and me and he got it.  Don’t you wonder how many people stood in the crowd and watched Jesus and thought, “Man this dude is nuts.”?  I love that an innocent child has processed the whole thing and is so amazed at what Jesus did for him that he can only sum it up by saying, “It’s crazy.”  I loved calling his mom and dad tonight and sharing this with them. 

We called Nanny today to wish her a Happy Easter and when she asked The Baby Girl what she was doing, I loved the answer.  The Baby Girl said loud and proud, “Celebrating The Cross.” 

We had a great Easter, and I have to say I felt so thankful today.  I felt so lucky to have my faith and relationship with God!

dscf8226

Mr. Perfect made it back from FL in time for dinner.

dscf8223

The Baby Girl's loot!

dscf8230

The baskets, notice nothing for Shane. He opted for cash!

dscf82241

Silly, silly, girl!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, friends, holidays, life, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

