I’m Having A Moment…

Pull up a chair and your beverage of choice (today my beverage is Sangria..yum), and let me just chat with you for a minute.

I had a proud Momma moment tonight, The Baby Girl was doing homework and I “didn’t get it”.  Imagine that.  I told her to wait until The First Born got home and she would help her.  A little bit later The First Born called, I told her we were “homework challenged” and on a speaker phone she walked The Baby thru her decimal homework.  It was the cutest thing I ever heard.  During this ten minute exchange I was reminded of the saying….

Sisters By Chance,

Friends By Choice!

The First Born is smart, like super smart.  She was in the gifted program offered in our school system, Mr. Perfect didn’t make that program….he didn’t seem to notice.  About a month ago we were asked to do some testing with Alyssa for the same program.  This invite caused huge stress and uncertainity in our already crazy home.  I could care less and have said that over and over, The First Born isn’t sure she wants to see The Baby Girl “in the program”, Mr. Wonderful says The Baby is a genius and no test will tell him anything different, Mr. Perfect says that program is a lot of work…ha I love that boy! 

We did the testing, no results as of yet.  However, last week we did get a letter from the district that from some other testing The Baby Girl has been “labeled”.  This whole process has told me how much I have changed as a mother over the last ten plus years.  I never researched “gifted” or “Visions” (our district’s program for “gifted” children) when The First Born was in 5th grade, school said she qualified I said Ok and it was a done deal. 

State Definition of “gifted & talented”: “‘Gifted’ means students who perform or show potential for performing at remarkably high levels of accomplishment when compared to others of their age, experience, or environment and who are identified under division (A), (B), (C), or (D) of section 3324.03 of the revised code.”
(Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3324.01)

I found this list on our school’s website about the difference in “A Gifted Learner” and “A High Achiever”, boy does it explain a lot to me.  My girls are two smart cookies. 

dscf6836

The First Born is so intelligent, but can’t seem to figure out what she wants to be when she grows up.  I’m ok with that, I have no doubt she will get a college degree.

The Baby Girl is so intelligent, but doesn’t always apply herself.  She is happy with a “good grade” it doesn’t have to be a “great grade”.  Ten years ago that attitude would have been unacceptable, today it’s ok.  I don’t lose sleep over report cards that have an occassional B, I’ll live.

I still don’t have the answers about what is the right thing for The Baby Girl, I am going to make some phone calls tomorrow and pray about it.  In the meantime, did I mention my girls are two smart cookies?

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, life, sisters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Having A Moment…

  1. jhoop says:

    Once again our lives mirror each other. Nothing more to be said here.

  2. Katie says:

    Hi! I just discovered your blog from Tip Junkie. Your girls are beautiful (and I love your First Born’s tattoo!)!

    I love that saying about sisters…and I definitely feel that way about my own sister!

    Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

