Tackle It Tuesday

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

This is my first try at “Tackle It Tuesday”, I’ve been ‘tackling my house” since 1/1/09.  You can see my overall progress here.  I am not an “organizer”, but I vowed this year I would do two things. 

  1. I would get rid of my clutter and try to teach my DD (AKA The Baby Girl) how to get organized and stay organized. 
  2. I would learn better eating and exercising habits and again teach DD that there is a better way to approach diet and exercise.

It’s the end of March and I’ve not mastered either new habit, but am still working in the right direction on both.

I am currently working on two rooms at once.  Yes, I am crazy. 

Today I’d like to show you my “Craft Room”, this room was years in the making.  We moved into a new house a year and a half ago and the only room available for my craft room had wood paneling and was in the basement.  You take what you can get.  When my son moved out I had a plan.

dscf69611

I forgot to take a before pic, so this is two days into “the move upstairs”.  I hate to admit the room was almost this horrible before I started the move.  I had decided to take over “The Green Room”, I just didn’t want it green.

I had found a room years before in a magazine and I wanted to create the same type of room.  Sounds simple enough right? 

scrapbook-room

Don’t you love this room.  Let me know what you think of my version.

dscf7961

I like my shelves, this was my way of getting the metal in the room from my inspiration room.  (sorry about the glare I tried and tried)

dscf79603

Do you love the turquoise dresser?  Mr. Wonderful spent the last week refinishing this just for messy ole’ me.  I have it filled with tons of treasures. 

dscf7959

Both organizers are thrift store finds, I have $8 invested in both of those.

dscf7950

This shelf goes all the way across the room.  I am looking for new picture boxes, I want something with turquoise and red. 

dscf7954

Buttons, ribbons and more buttons and ribbons. 

This room is all about tranquilty and peace for me.  I am so happy when I’m in this room.  I doubt it’ll be in a magazine anytime soon, but it’s perfect to me.

dscf8138

I love my bulletin board, I (ok Mr. Wonderful) spray painted it red and then I used a roll of wrapping paper to cover the bulletin board.

dscf7962

I love my bowl, keeps everything close by that I use on a regular basis.

dscf8141

The room will never be done, it’ll always be a work in progress and that is part of the fun.  The challenge is I need the closet of the room and I can’t talk Mr. Wonderful into throwing away all of his clothes, I’ll get back to you on that subject.

Our other big project right now is The Baby Girl’s room, I declared war this weekend and I won the first battle.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in decorating, organizing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tackle It Tuesday

  1. Jennifer says:

    You did a great job on that…it’s beautiful! I can’t wait for the day I have a room all of my own for my stuff. For now I have to settle for using our dining area…it works, but I’d love to have a room I can close the door to so that it’s not the first thing you see when you walk in my house!

  2. This looks incredible. I wish I had a room like this in our house.

  3. Danielle says:

    Looks like you nailed it! Great job and yours is personalized to fit your needs.

  4. gabriellekrake says:

    This is fantastic!!! Great work! I love the colors, happy crafting!

  5. simplygratefulsoul says:

    your version is adorable and inspiring! thanks for sharing and thank you for visiting and commenting on my post on my meditation spot…hope you find your own perfect spot.

    imelda@inspired simplicity

  6. Wanda says:

    Your room looks great! I am really jealous. I have one whole bedroom for my scrapping, but have not organized anything yet. Oh, well, I will one of these days!

Leave a Reply

