I Won The Battle

met-monday

I can’t imagine a more perfect Met Monday post then the hot mess I cleaned and organized all day Saturday.  I am so glad that I have kept track of my “2009 Organizing Challenges” Click here to see my progress.

Ok I declared war on the room.  As you can see from these pictures war needed to be declared. 

dscf7918

In case it’s hard for you to figure it out, this is the floor between the wall and The Baby Girl’s bed, I (we) found everything except for dirty dishes, Thank God.

dscf7916

Yes that is a closet.  Enough said.

dscf7917

Don’t you love the naked Barbie on the windowsill, how about the bed with no sheets. 

dscf7915

Now that’s a closet.

dscf7913

I love this over the door hook thingy, it holds all of her purses, her hats, her fins for swimming and then we hung another hook for her towels.

dscf7912

I love the way her shelves turned out, I will be adding to them.

The Baby Girl and I had many meltdowns during the day, but I didn’t back down.  I just made myself think about how much happier we would both be when the war was over.  It didn’t take me long to realize her ideas and mine were not the same.  She said, “I think I want a pink bedspread.”  I thought black and cream.  But, it’s her room so I started looking for something pink that might work.

So, I started with Target.  Don’t we all love Target?

pink-1

This one is pink eyelet, it would probably work.

pink-polka-dot

She loves polka dots and so do I.  I just don’t think this would work with all the treasures I’ve already bought.

Did I mention black and cream?

black-and-cream

So I wasn’t in love with any of the pink and The Baby Girl was not feeling my black and cream so I continued to look, while she made lots of noise in the “war zone” because I had just had meltdown #3 when I found her laying on the bed not cleaning.  It’s 11:18 and the t.v. has been turned off.  Up oh!

I wandered over to Kohl’s, all I can say is disappointment.  I did find one that The Baby Girl might not roll her eyes at.  Try to ignore the flower sheets and try to imagine some really cute black and creams ones…oops there is the black and cream again.

pink-kohls

So I got frustrated and made the tough decision to go and look at Wake Up Frankie and of course I found everything that WE yes I said WE love.

initial-bedspread

Isn’t it adorable?  Sure it is, the comforter alone is $179 and that doesn’t even touch the bedskirt, the pillows etc.  Of course The Baby Girl wants her initials in the center (not sure if I like that idea), but I’m working on a plan.  We’ll see how it works out.  Can you see the polka dots? 

How about these pillows in a different shade of pink.  The Baby Girl says, “Heck Mom we could make those.”  Let’s hope so cause these babies are going for $55 each. 

pillows

I love love love these polka dots, but I’m sure I can find something a little more practical and a little less expensive this set with set me back $76.  I’m on a hunt.

polka-dotted-sheets

We are going to make a trip to JoAnn’s to see what tulle will run us, these curtains are not that expensive, but The Baby Girl sees us making a set with Ann.  The price tag for a set is $49.  I’ll have to stop by and see some mistreatments at Nester’s blog. 

curtains

Ok we spent the afternoon shopping.  We found no pink polka dot comforter, dang it.  We found the biggest fluffiest pillows that The Baby Girl loves, black sheets and a warm white blanket, she is sleeping soundly.  The hunt is on.  The cleaning and organizing is completed and now the fun begins.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in decorating, organizing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I Won The Battle

  1. jhoop says:

    I love, love, love the pink with the initial!!! I want that for MY bed. Somehow I don’t think Jeff would go for it. Did I tell you that we did our bedroom in …………. lime green and brown?? Sounds horrible but it is so awesome. He has a eye for color, which scares me, but he is good at it.

  2. Michelle says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I really enjoyed visiting yours and will definitely be back! LOVE the bed set you picked out. Black, pink and white are one of my favorite combinations. Hope you can find everything you want at an affordable price.

    Oh, and I totally feel your pain on those “before” pics, right down to the naked Barbie. What is it about Barbies and their constant nakedness? Have they no shame? Your “after” pics are so inspiring!

  3. Oh, I’m loving the pink & black! 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my Blog Party!
    Blessings,
    Michele

  4. Nancy Wyatt says:

    Michelle, thanks for stopping in on my blog lovestocreate.com I got the desks at Ikea and I’m going back to get another piece, the expedit shelf to lay on it’s side underneath my newly painted mirrors. love what you did with all the organization in her room! And you know I totally love pink/black! hugs from Conroe TX!

  5. Susan says:

    Looks like my daughter’s closet!

  6. susan says:

    I love finding a look and then trying to recreate it cheaply ( I mean reasonably 🙂 ) Good luck!

  7. Chandy says:

    Hope to see what you came up with for the rest of her room!

    Happy Monday!

  8. Cass says:

    I am still waiting for my 21 year old daughter to clean up her room! We’ve bought the bedding, etc., but I refuse to put it on her bed until her amazing messes (which she terms “creative chaos”) are tidied. Ah, it never ends!

    Lovely blog post. Your daughter has good taste, too, like her Mom.
    Glad you could find something you both agree upon, and now it will be interesting to see how you recreate it.

  9. Deb says:

    I love what you two finally decided on! Very Pretty! Deb

  10. Cathy says:

    This is my first visit to your site! I see you have been an organizing whirlwind! Can you come help me? I have to go now my messy basement it calling me. It’s been fun, have a great day.
    Cathy

  11. I’m sure you could find some pretty fabric to do the pink and black idea. I love that expensive one, but you should be able to find fabrics to do something similar. It’s so French!

  12. Pingback: Tackle It Tuesday « Paper Glue Etc.

  13. Kim Chalfant says:

    I love it!!! But how long will the closet & shelves stay looking this good? If it were my son, the next day it would be back to looking like the war zone. Good luck, hopefully your daughter will keep it looking neat & tidy longer than 1 day. And good luck on the hunt for the perfect affordable bedding. You are going to need it!

  14. Pingback: Paris or Bust….. « Paper Glue Etc.

Leave a Reply

