Family Dinner/Comfort Food

I was happy thrilled to be able to have all three kids at the house for dinner on Sunday, no NFL football game to keep Mr. Perfect away and no Nascar to keep Mr. Wonderful away…so YIPEE Family Dinner!  In case anyone is wondering, no one helped with the dishes.

My girls refused to let me take any pictures, something about bad hair and a stomach ache.  I took a few of Mr. Perfect and I am not going to quote what he said when I thanked him for not throwing a fit like his sisters. 

dscf7365

My third girl let me get a few of her, I think we need to put her on a diet.

dscf7368

I decided to make Granny Christian’s barbeque yummy!  If your related to my late grandmother Eunice then you know there is nothing like her barbeque recipe.  The First Born has given up meat so I made her baked mac and cheese and Mr. Perfect’s favorite dessert is Dump Cake…I pleased EVERYONE…..write it down.

I thought it would be a great time to participate in a couple of food blog parties.

Tasty Tuesday Button

and Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.

dscf7370

Creamy Baked Macaroni And Cheese Recipe #83810

55 min | 5 min prep

SERVES 4

  1. Boil noodles until done.
  2. While noodles are cooking, grease a rectangular glass casserole dish.
  3. After noodles are drained and have cooled for a few minutes, put them in casserole dish and mix with beaten egg.
  4. Set aside.
  5. In a medium saucepan, melt butter on medium-low heat and add flour to make a paste.
  6. Add half and half and bring to a boil on medium-high heat.
  7. Reduce heat and add velveeta and cream cheese in small chunks.
  8. Stir and add seasonings (last four ingredients).
  9. After all the cheese is melted and the sauce has a medium thick consistency (you may need to play around with the half and half or milk to get the consistency you prefer), pour it over the noodles.
  10. Stir noodles with sauce until they are combined.
  11. Sprinkle parmesan over the top.
  12. Bake in a preheated oven at 375 degrees for 30-45 minutes (I wait until it’s a little browned).

Granny Christian’s Barbeque

  • ½ lb. ground beef (I use chuck)
  • 1 T. shortening (I leave this out)
  • 2 t. vinegar
  • ¼ C onion chopped
  • ½ C celery chopped
  • 1 ½ t. dry mustard
  • 1 C ketchup
  • ½ C water
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • ½ C lemon juice
  • ½ t. salt and pepper
  • 1/8 t. cayenne pepper

A recipe doesn’t get any easier, you can combine everything in a pan, bring to a boil turn down and cook for about an hour as one aunt does, or you can brown your beef drain and then combine remaining ingredients bring to a boil reduce heat and cook for about an hour.  I think the longer you cook it the better it is. 

We like to use it over hotdogs on day two.

You will never eat Manwich again after you try this recipe. 

dscf6529

 Cherry Dump Cake

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 1 hours,

Ingredients:

  • 1 (20 ounces) can crushed pineapple, undrained
  • 1 (21 ounces) can prepared more fruit cherry pie filling
  • 1 (18.25 ounces) box yellow cake mix
  • 2 sticks of butter or margarine, each cut into 12 slices
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts (your choice – optional)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (325 for glass baking dish). Have a 9 by 13-inch baking pan ready.

Dump undrained pineapple baking dish or pan and spread it out evenly.

Using a spoon, dump globs of cherry pie filling evenly on top of the pineapple.

Sprinkle the cake mix evenly over the cherry and pineapple layers.

Cut butter into slices with a butter knife and place slices evenly over cake mix.

Sprinkle nuts on top if you’re using them.

Bake for one hour. Use heavy oven mitts to remove the dump cake from oven or let your older helper do it.

To serve, scoop cake out with a large spoon like a cobbler, and dump it on a nice plate. A scoop of vanilla ice cream is delicious with dump cake. Serve warm or cold.

Yield: about 10 to 12 servings

The Cherry Dump Cake is made by Mr. Perfect himself, the hardest thing is cutting up the butter…a five year old could make this cake…try it!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in cooking, family, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Family Dinner/Comfort Food

  1. Great recipes. My dad loves Dump Cake. He makes his with blueberry filling though.

  2. Samantha says:

    These recipes look delicious, cant wait to try them. Thank you for sharing !

  3. Jerri says:

    I’ve been looking for a baked macaroni and cheese recipe. I’ll check this out! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Cupcake says:

    oh man! all that looks and sounds so yummy!! i cant wait to try it!!!

  5. Wow! You were cooking up a storm! They all look great and I’m going to have to try baked macaroni and cheese. I love making (and eating) it, but I’ve never baked it and it sounds so creamy! Yum! Thanks for sharing your recipes with us today!
    ~Kim

  6. Amy says:

    Cherry dump cake is one of my favorites! I haven’t had it in a long time. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. Helen says:

    whoo hoo a whole meals worth of recipes everything looks so good! Thanks for sharing!
    Helen

  8. Now that looked like a GREAT meal. I am glad you joined us, this week. Thanks for sharing the recipe and linking up to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.

  9. Lana says:

    YEP… comfort all the way. Thanks for sharing. This looks great!

  10. CeCe Garrett says:

    GOT to love a woman who makes a great dump cake!

  11. oh yumminess! The mac & cheese AND the dump cake! I will have to try that!!!

    xo,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

