People!

I didn’t prepare a lot for today’s post because I was hoping to have a guest blogger.  I have thought about “people” a lot this week.  This could get quite interesting if I allow myself to be honest.

I do not allow many people to get to me, and when I say that it sounds cold.  I don’t mean for it to be that way.  I have been burned so many times by people that I just don’t let myself get up close and personal with many people.  Don’t get me wrong I have a tight inner circle, but I can say I don’t try to add too many people to that circle.

I have lots of what I call surface relationships people I enjoy hanging out with, but I don’t share my heart and soul.  I keep a safe distance.  These are great people who I could probably really getting a blessing from, but from past hurts I just don’t get that close.

Now for the honesty part, I find it harder and harder the older I get to tolerate jerks.  I use to just have the idea that if you can’t beat em’ join em’ and I’d just act just as ugly.  With a little maturity and a lot of prayer I started “overlooking” and that worked for awhile, but not so much right now.  There is a person that I work with that truly is just a jerk, there is no other way to look at it.  I have tried to find a way around this person’s lack of depth, I’ve tried to see the good, I’ve tried to “overlook” and I just can’t.  He is an ugly person and I’m so thankful that after Friday I never have to interact with this person again.  I hate that he will be able to bully my staff after I’m gone.  It makes me feel like a hypocrite that I didn’t confront the situation until I got a resolution, I just gave up.  I’m angry that I work for a company that will continue to allow someone to be that toxic in a work environment. 

I have been amazed over and over this week at the attempts that were made to get me to stay at my job, don’t get me wrong it felt good.  I was tempted by a fairly new person who works for our company because I just feel he is “good people”, but I am excited about my new opportunity and looking forward to the “newness”. 

With all of that said let me tell you about the people who matter.  Mr. Wonderful was very good to me for Valentine’s Day, makes me feel bad saying I was the only girl in the world that didn’t care about Valentine’s Day.  After such a great day I decided I better include myself in “Hooked on Valentine’s Day” blog party.

dscf7179

I am not usually a “rose kinda girl”, but I think these are beautiful.  He also was talked into a beautiful box of truffles by The Baby Girl, roses and candy what more could a girl want.  How about a heart shaped pizza baked by Mr. Wonderful and The Baby Girl? 

dscf7178

They even remembered to use turkey pepperoni. 

I was reminded this week why I think Mr. Perfect (AKA Shane) is so darn cute.

dscf7175

He made that cookie all by himself, I wasn’t paying attention to what he was doing so he decorated it in the pan instead of putting it on the cute tray I had picked out for him.  He also made dinner for his sweetie, a heart shaped pizza.  We “hearted up” a pic of the two of them thru Walgreens online and he bought a cute frame, pretty good little cupid wasn’t he?

Mr. Wonderful says I did great, who can argue with Haute Chocolate?  Are you giving your marriage the attention it deserves?  What have you done lately for your own Mr. Wonderful?

haute_chocolate

So how was your Valentine’s Day?  Leave me a comment and I’ll link you to this post.

Amber

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in cooking, family, friends, holidays, life, marriage, random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People!

  1. amber says:

    Wow, you must rank! 🙂 Glad you had a good Valentine’s Day. Ours was good too. I got him tickets to see (get this) the Dropkick Murphy’s! He loves them, I hate them, but we’ll both be seeing them live in a couple of weeks. I got a very special gift of time to me and a box of Esther Price dark chocolates. I’ll gain 20 pounds, but I’ll enjoy doing it.

Leave a Reply

