Chocolate!

We all know what Forest Gump said about chocolate right?

Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get.

For the first time in a really long time I would like to stay in bed with the covers pulled up over my head.  I can’t put my finger on why, it’s just the way I feel. 

This week has brought challenges that are just yuck, car repairs, grown children whose lack of responsibility pushes my buttons, a hair color that I’m just not too sure of, work drama, and a wind storm that just caused me to lose an entire post.  I of course could look at all the positives from above, but what fun would that be.  A pity party is in order I believe.

swak21

We Are That Family is hosting a Valentine’s challenge.  You know I love a good challenge.

Maybe that’s why I fell in love with Mr. Wonderful, he has for sure been a challenge.  I met Mr. Wonderful indirectly thru work and I wasn’t all that fond of him, I actually used bad words to describe him.  (Insert snicker) He had a lot of strikes against him.  He was divorced from a woman that loved (loves) some drama, he had three kids, he was dating so many women that we named them by the cities they lived in to keep them straight and he smoked.  I fell in love despite all of those obstacles.

dscf6754

Mr. Wonderful had the morales of an alley cat so keeping my blog G rated I’ll try to explain that he was not sure what he was feeling for me.  Our relationship was not physical and he felt he was in love me.  He was so confused by this he called his mother and questioned how that could happen.  (true story)

We have a monologue that goes like this.  Me, “I love you.”  Mr. Wonderful, “I love you more.”  Me, “I loved you first.”  Mr. Wonderful, “I told you first.”  Then I just giggle.

dscf4951

I have a post scheduled for Friday that reveals our marriage hit rock bottom a couple of years ago, Mr. Wonderful was anything but wonderful.  I love him anyway. 

I jokingly say it took me three tries to get marriage right, but it’s true.  I’m happily married.  I enjoy sharing my life with Mr. Wonderful!

dscf5314

We fight, but we fight fair.  We enjoy spending time together.  We share Alyssa, she is “ours”.  We get thru the craziness that his bitter ex-wife creates, we recognize that his kids would not like any stepmother, we worry about what we think of our relationship and could care less what anyone else’s opinion is.  We love each other and as the pillow on our bed says, we always kiss goodnight!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in divorce, faith, family, life, marriage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate!

  1. Thank you for sharing your love story! I love that you were honest! I find it refreshing and I think it will ring true to a lot of people out there!

  2. I am a bit late in visiting via the SWAK carnival, but what a great post!

Leave a Reply

