Celebration!

 The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.

Oprah Winfrey

I am so excited about this month of celebration.  I have surprises, games, crafts, challenges and of course give aways etc.

I hope this “Blog Party” encourages you to step outside your comfort zone and “pay it  forward”.  “It” is different for everyone and this month you’ll meet lots of folks that have a heart to make a difference, I love people who want to make a difference.  

Today’s word is probably not a word a lot of people would use when talking about an infant’s death, but I did.  I used the word over and over during those two and a half days of labor.  I would not allow sour faced people to stay at the hospital.  I know we were witnesses of Christ at the hospital for three days.  The nurses told me they had never seen anything like it. 

A person that was a big part of that weekend was my pastor, Pastor Brian Buriff.  I’ve posted about him before, I love him.  I’ve posted that him and his wife Amber have raised two great boys, both with a love for The Lord.  I shared his peace on earth video back in December, but today I get to introduce him and a post from him. 

I requested Pastor Buriff to particpate with the word celebration because it wasn’t typical and neither is he.  Thank God!!

When Michelle asked me to contribute a blog post on the subject of CELEBRATION – for whatever my mind wondered to Kool & the Gang’s 1980’s hit song “Celebration”

 Part of me thought – no, no – that doesn’t work – until I took a closer look at they lyrics:

 Celebrate good times come on!  Let’s celebrate …it’s all right! 

There’s a party going on right here
A celebration to last throughout the years. 
So bring your good times and your laughter too
We’re gonna celebrate your party with you! 
Come on now celebration
Let’s all celebrate and have a good time
It’s time to come together
it’s up to you what’s your pleasure
Everyone around the world come on it’s a celebration. 
Celebrate good times come on it’s a celebration
 
We’re gonna have a good time tonight let’s celebrate it’s alright
We’re gonna have a good time tonight let’s celebrate it’s alright
Baby we’re gonna have a good time tonight
Let’s celebrate it’s alright
 
Party party party
 
The clincher for me was when I read the lyrics, “Baby we’re going to have a good time…” – take that however you wish, but I can’t help but wonder if the first words that Baby James heard when he was greeted into eternity was something like this:   “Everyone around the world…it’s a celebration…it’s alright…Baby we’re going to have a good time…”.   And with that Baby James entered the jubilation of glory and simultaneously a piece of that jubilation nestled itself warmly inside that hospital room where we all had gathered.  I was there.  And yes, of course we wept, but it was with the knowledge that Baby James, without saying a word, reminded us of the value of human life and that even in death, that life can be celebrated. 

So party on Baby James…it’s alright!  It won’t be long till we see you again.  Oh, and we won’t arrive empty handed…we’ll  bring our good times and our laughter too…someday we’re gonna celebrate your party with you! 

 – Pastor Brian

This song’s lyrics are more profound then some may realize.  It speaks to celebration being a choice – that is, “it’s up to you…” and that if you want to celebrate “it’s alright”.  On that 28th day of February, in the hospital, Michelle made a choice and with a strength beyond her own she encouraged us in that choice as well.  It was a choice that reflected faith and hope that only Jesus can author.  It speaks to celebration where all come together…everyone around the world…and celebration that lasts a long, long time – a celebration that’s not just “alright” but that is absolutely right.  Hum – kinda reminds me of heaven.  

We all have a choice don’t we?  I believe it was the love and compassion that Pastor Buriff showed not only me, but everyone at the hospital that convinced my husband to attend church with me.  Mr. Wonderful respects our pastor and what he stands for, how could he not.  I don’t even like to think about how differently this situation could have turned out, but because of God and the faith I had in Him I’ll never have to question.  God was with me during those days of labor and He has continued to be with me.  Isn’t that awesome?

 I can’t wait to celebrate February and the love I have in my life.  I love the ideas here for celebrating love and lots of it.

 

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, grief, infant loss, life, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebration!

  1. Pingback: Candy! « Paper Glue Etc.

Leave a Reply

