Organizing Remember?

Ok, I get a hall pass on organizing for the night.  Why you ask?  My blog is a rated G blog so I can’t possibly show you the huge bruise running from midback down to my knee.  If I wasn’t walking like a 95 year woman I would go down the stairs of my home and get my camera and take a picture of my hand that is swollen and scabbed over.  Reminder when leaving Penn Station watch where you are going.  So if you were the two nice ladies or the man with the accent that wanted to call an ambulance that helped me in the parking lot of Penn Station, thank you.  If you are sitting at home laughing right now, I don’t blame you I would be laughing myself if it didn’t hurt so darn bad.  I am miserable. 

I wanted to come home and organize, instead Lyssa organized her scrapbook bin. 

dscf6991

All the sitting around tonight got me thinking.  I started thinking about what I’ve learned about thrifting.

  • Most IMPORTANT take a measuring tape with you, almost as important measure spaces you are trying to find treasures for.  In my case I’m getting ready to redo the main bathroom, so Mr. Wonderful measured the wall spaces that I am looking for treasures for.  He also measured the bottom of the fish tank stand for baskets.
  • Write details down in a notebook, I wrote down the phone numbers to the thrift stores I like the best, measurements, treasures I am searching for like an ornate frame to use in my “message center”, baskets for craft room, frames for a picture wall, Taylor Smith Taylor dishes, milk glass for my hutch.
  • Have an extra pair of socks in the car, if you plan to try on shoes.
  • Swatches of any material you are trying to match.

I started to realize if I need all these goodies why not put them together in something and put it all in the car.

dscf7001

I’ll be adding a pair of socks, a small tape measure, pictures of the Taylor Smith Taylor china I got last week (can’t figure out the name of the pattern).  I’ll keep my new box in the trunk of my car.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in organizing, thrift stores and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Organizing Remember?

  1. Lori says:

    Ouch!! Hope you are feeling a bit better!!
    I’m so proud of you with all the organizing!! That is awesome. Can’t wait to see it all!

  2. jhoop says:

    Some people keep emergency equipment in their trunk, but nooooooo not Michelle, she keeps thrifting stuff in hers. You crack me up. BTW, sorry about you falling. Thank God I wasn’t with you because when someone falls my first instinct is to laugh. I know, I know, HOW RUDE, but I just can’t help it. Once the laughter has died down then I can help (as long as there is no blood).

Leave a Reply

