A Beautiful Life?

a-beautiful-life

Who doesn’t want a beautiful life?  We all do.  This week I have had the opportunity to really reflect about my life and the life of those around me.  My life was touched again this week by suicide, I can now add I have read a suicide letter to my list of life experiences.  It has been a long sad week.

So when I saw a reminder today about the 12 month series of “A Beautiful Life” I decided to reflect myself.

My life isn’t as beautiful as I would like it to be, but I’m working on it.  I’ll start with the easy fix, I’m a pack rat.  I know I have to change this if I want my surrondings to be beautiful so this week I have spent approximately (ok it’s not approximate I’ve kept track) 27 hours organizing.  I’m proud. 

dscf69392

The beginning of my craft room. I love it! Still have tons of stuff to unpack but I'm getting there.

I have found things while organizing this week that have really made me reflect, a green Roger’s jewerly box with jewerly I couldn’t bring myself to wear seven years ago because my heart hurt so bad.  I wore the necklace yesterday and it was just a necklace, my heart is healed from the old heartbreak, that’s beautiful right?

I woke up today and called my Daddy to wish him a happy birthday.  He is 63 today and that made Alyssa giggle.  I haven’t always been the best daughter and well he wasn’t always the best father, but now we have a great relationship and I not only love him, I respect him, I enjoy spending time with him and he gives me security.  I know if I fall on my face tomorrow he’s there for me, that’s beautiful right?

This girl loves her Papaw like no other!

This girl loves her Papaw like no other!

 So this week my goals are-

  • To continue to work on organizing, I wonder how many hours I’ll spend on this goal between now and next Friday (yes I plan to keep track-there’s a scrapbook page brewing in my head).
  • Do something nice and unexpected for Mr. Wonderful (this week I baked him a cake and he loved it).
  • Write a letter to someone this week and every week until I have gone through my list telling them what they mean to me.  Remember I read a suicide letter this week and I’ve decided to tell people what they mean to me while they are here on this earth.  If you sit down and write a list of the people who have made you who you are you’d be surprised at how many people you could write a quick note to and brighten their day.  Try it!
  • Of course I would be lying if I didn’t add a few trips to the thrift store.

Is your life beautiful?  If it isn’t what are you doing to make it beautiful, you do know you deserve a beautiful life right?

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in decorating, family, grief, life, marriage, organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Beautiful Life?

  1. Teresa says:

    sorry about the hard week- Hugs
    I’ve been doing tons of organizing this week also-
    Not 27 hours but close
    Have a great day.

  2. Very inspiring post! It really all is a matter of perspective. So sorry about the suicide, that must have been a tough letter to read.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Melissa

  3. Thank you for sharing. Your craft room looks amazing! I love the curtains. What a great idea to keep track of you time organizing! I’m going to start doing that!

  4. Sandy says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Yes, your life sounds very beautiful indeed. Thank you for sharing.

  5. God bless you during your hard week/time with this situation. And thanks for your story.

Leave a Reply

