Date Nights 2009

Have I told y’all lately how much I appreciate Mr. Wonderful?  I have lots of reasons to appreciate him, have I confessed he does ALL the laundry?  It’s a long story, but let’s say he only had to refold my laundry once before I retired from laundry duty (that was five years ago).

Tonight was the first date night of 2009 and what a reminder of the jewel I am married to.  We were suppose to go to LuLu’s (little inexpensive chinese place), but he surprised me with P.F. Changs…yummy…the quote of the night….

ME:  “There is nothing like a good glass of wine and good chinese food.”

MR. WONDERFUL:  “I don’t know I really like french fries and a cold beer.”

After dinner we went to Barnes and Nobles.  I bought a book called All About Us.  (Author Phillip Keel)

dscf6906

It’s a fun book, it’s 116 pages of questions.  We did a few pages tonight, Mr. Wonderful thinks I’m crazy.

We went to the movies to see 7 lbs., I didn’t love it.  I would say on a scale of 1-10 maybe a 6.  Mr. Wonderful said, “It was alright.”

Tonight when we were out having so much fun I decided “Date Night” needs some attention.  I told Mr. Wonderful it can’t be dinner and movie every month, did I mention he thinks I’m crazy.  We decided we would plan every other month, so he took credit of planning tonight so I have next month. 

I am going to start a new page on my blog for Date Nights, if you do date nights please stop by leave a comment, suggestion, funny story etc.  I am going to start listing “ideas” for date nights.  Let’s see what we can come up with.  Let’s give our significant others the attention they deserve, let’s make our marriages a priority.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, life, marriage, random thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Date Nights 2009

  1. Alicia says:

    I’m glad you and Mr. Wonderful had a great date night! Who doesn’t love P.F. Changs…my hubby would prefer beer and wings though too! I am looking forward to hearing what you guys do next month!

  2. P.F. Changs…yum! I love your date idea! Two years ago, me and my hubby decided that each month, we would go on two special dates: one planned by him and one planned by me. But the catch was that I would plan the date especially with him in mind, doing something that I know he would love doing, and he’d have to plan his date for me based upon things I would love doing. And for the most part, what we’d do on the dates would be a surprise for whichever of us the date was geared towards. So for instance, one Saturday, hubby took me to a garden seminar on roses and we bought rose bushes to plant together. Or he took me to get a dessert and then an afternoon playing at a park with our puppy. One date, I took him on a hike and picnic, or bowling. It’s a great way to be creative and think about what would be fun for the other person, and it’s always a date we look forward to each month! 🙂

  3. jhoop says:

    One down and only 11 to go!! You can do, but you just have to make the time. Make the rule that you cannot talk about the kids on date night. It takes a little getting used to but you MUST find something else besides them. I tell them all the time “it ain’t about you all the time.” They roll their eyes as if in disbelief. I will put on my thinking cap and try to come up with an idea for you guys. Have a great week.

    Love ya,

  4. Sherri says:

    Hamilton Co. parks puts on a mystery dinner I think once a month. That would be neat to do with several couples. I think the web-site is hamiltoncountyparks.org
    I’ll check it.

Leave a Reply

