Thanksgiving.

My title says it all.  Thanksgiving period.  That’s my rule, no Christmas “stuff” until Thanksgiving is over, but an email today is making me break my own rule.  Last year I did Journal Your Christmas 2007 and I have to say it might have been my favorite project ever.  I did it last year and dedicated it to Alyssa, this year I’m doing one for Lena.  

journal-your-christmas-blog-pic

If I tell you I set my alarm for 30 minutes earlier each day last year so I could get up and run to my computer to see the prompt for the day, and you know me then you know this is a great project.  The best deal in town also because once you pay for the class you get to do it EVERY YEAR!  I figure last year was Alyssa’s, this year is Lena’s, next year is Shane’s and then one for me.  Check it out!

Ok, we have grazed! 

dscf64961

Her first green bean casserole….

dscf65311

I actually ask for a picture of Carl and I.

dscf65342

What I am the most thankful for in this world!

dscf65364

Lena letting me know ENOUGH PICTURES!

They are gone, Alyssa is bored, Carl is stuffed and I am sleepy!

Happy Turkey Day!!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Christmas, family, scrapbooking, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thanksgiving.

  1. Sarah says:

    Yay! You are my 100th “follower!” Hate that word! Wish I had an award for you or something. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family and thanks for visiting.

  2. Colleen F says:

    Thanks for sharing your pages from last year. This is my first year, I can’t wait to do this. I am really looking forward to documenting our Christmas and sharing it with the girls. I think my girls are going to join me with this project.

  3. barbara says:

    Thanks for your inspiration. I am like you…no Christmas before Thanksgiving. I love Thanksgiving. I have never done the Journal your Christmas before. Heard about it on Ali Edwards blog about her December Daily plan and she advised taking this class. I like your idea about getting up a half an hour early. I am going to set up my portable printer so I can just plug in my memory stick and print out a picture a day. Just need to settle on a size. I bought an American Crafts 8.5×11 modern album (red) with the idea to use different size pages. Thanks for allowing me to organize the thoughts in my mind on your blog.

  4. Bernice says:

    Hi this is my first year of doing JYC. In fact I only started scrapbooking in the SPring of this year. I did Shimelle’s ‘Learn Something New’ in September which I really enjoyed. As well as JYC I am doing a Christmas A-Z with the girls on faithscrappersuk. I have made my own book for JYC using ideas I got from looking at the Ali Edwards website as well as looking at some of last years JYC journals on flickr.

  5. Bren says:

    This is my first year with JYC but I can’t wait to get started. It seems such a good idea to make a book about all the preparations for Christmas and then the actual holiday period. Something for the grandkids to look at in many years to come (my daughters are still at university at the moment!) and they can see how traditions and things change.

    I wish I had something like this from my mother’s childhood!

  6. Suzanne says:

    This is my first year in journalling my christmas – a time that is very important to me and my family. I have done christmas albums before but never set out to write what i feel about the whole run up etc. I like the idea of photographing every day, and not just the “big days” – this time also is the time of my only son’t birthday – so lots to celebrate.
    I made my album yesterday so am ready to roll!

  7. Latharia says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, a bit belated! 🙂 Just coming to visit you from the link you posted in Shimelle’s forum! This’ll be my 3rd year doing Journal Your Christmas! I, too, am a no-Christmas before Thanksgiving kind of gal … and I try to get all of my holiday shopping done before Black Friday … and I do this class because it helps ground me during a season where there’s an awful lot of chaos! 😀

  8. Catherine.G says:

    Hello. Over here from the journal your christmas forums. I saw the class last year and thought….I will do enough myself to create the memories I want. So wrong. Ended up with 3 photos from the whole period so I am joining in this year to get me going!

  9. Madeline St Onge says:

    This is my 2nd year doing JYC and I am so excited about it again this year. I am figureing I need to do one for each grandchild, so far that would be 3 JYC 🙂

  10. I don’t want to be an unknown in a box. That’s why I’m doing this journal, and why I scrapbook and write thoughts down.
    I have unknown relatives in a box, and I stare at them as if wishing them to come to life and tell me who they are, what they liked, what they did, and I will never have that happen to me or my loved ones. It’s personal. Everytime a relative, especially my own child says “Mom, who’s that?” I know my job is not done. So no one on this earth will ever say “What did you like about Christmas?” They can check out my journal, and they will not only know my name, but my life. Even if just a “peek”.

  11. Dianne says:

    This will be my fourth year with Shimelle, Journal your Christmas. I do it to remind me how important it is to keep a written record of memories for my family. It is my gift to myself. I spend time daily just for me completing this gift. I, also, love to see new ideas and hear from fellow scrappers.

  12. Virginia says:

    Hi its my first journal your Christmas and I’m all very excited to start it. I just know it will mean lasting memories for years to come of the little things that happen as well as the big things! That’s what I love the most about this type of hobby anything goes and its just such a wonderful time of year to take a step back and enjoy rather than rushing around!

Leave a Reply

