President Obama

Well I admit it, for the first time ever I voted for the loser.  I’ve been surprised a few times over the last few days when people tell me how they voted.  The vote just doesn’t match the person in my mind sometimes.

I have been reminded again thru this election how different my kids are.  Let’s see Alyssa got up and went with me to vote, she wanted to know what it was like.  She ask a lot of questions, especially about those strangers on the presidential side. 

Shane well he slept in that day.  He didn’t want to vote for either he said.  I wonder sometimes what I taught this kid.  I feel like I failed in a lot of areas with Shane and I add this to the list…ha!

Then there is Lena, she drove 30 miles before she went to work because she had to vote.  She was excited about Obama and I’m glad for that.  I remember that feeling when I voted for GWB.  I just knew he was going “to fix” this messed up country.  Well we all know how that turned out and I sure hope this turns out better for all concerned.  I am proud that Lena went against all of us and voted for who she believed in. 

Watching T.V. tonight I heard the race being discussed on T.V. and here is what I heard-

  • If we removed all the votes for people under 30 Obama would still be president. 
  • Multiple reporters talking about how much money Sarah spent on clothes, are you kidding me?
  • Bowling alley being removed, basketball court being added. 
  • Discussion after discussion about Michelle’s dress for the big night.
  • Sarah was a diva.
  • The first family is getting a dog, the Kennedys had lots of animals.
  • Oprah hopes Obama’s email address doesn’t change.

I wonder why women of this country aren’t throwing a fit about the sexism that still exist today.  I am as bothered today by Oprah’s behavior as I was a few months ago, Oprah who makes millions off of women viewers continues to rah rah having a black man as a president, what about the women that were involved in this race?  Oprah who used her stardom to influence the race, ok nevermind I’m getting off of the topic of Oprah because I’m getting nasty. 

I’ll say on my blog today and I hope I’m wrong, CHANGE might happen.  I’m just not sure it’s the CHANGE we were all promised.  If in four years we all have great health insurance, the men and women are home safely from Iraq, taxes are lowered, gas is less then $2.00 a gallon and some idiot hasn’t tried to kill Obama I will eat crow, but I just don’t think it will happen.

I think of Obama as more then a president, I think of him as a person, a father, a husband, a friend, and I just hope this crazy world we live in is ready for this man to be in office.  I see how much he loves his wife and children and I’m sure he has great intentions, but I just don’t know how much he can get accomplished when the entire system is a train wreck.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to President Obama

  1. Lori says:

    No need to say anything about Oprah, I agree with you!!

  2. Karen says:

    I agree the Oprah crap pissed me off too.

    I voted right there with you Michelle for the loser. I just don’t feel that Obama is ready for all this. If you look at his track record in Chicago, it speaks for itself. The worst schools, the worst crime rate, the worst you name it. I do believe that he is an extremely charismatic speaker and would have done well as a preacher but I’m really not feeling it so much as a president. I listened to all the debates and was disgusted by all the bashing that went on from both sides. I already know what GWB did, I want to know what you are going to do darnit!!
    My vote wasn’t racially motivated, if Colin Powell had run, I would have been in line first because I truly feel he would make a great leader for us all!!!

    I sincerely hope this man has a plan that he can carry out! Anyone wanna move to Canada for the next 4 years?

  3. Hoop says:

    Preacher, yes. Motivational speaker, yes. Leader of the United State of America, I just don’t see it. I am so sick of hearing about racism. Had he not won every non-black would have been called a racist. Now he won and every black is the proudest non-white in the USA. I agree with you Karen, Colin Powell would be my choice but I think he is just too smart. Why on earth would anyone want to take over this mess we are in. Don’t get me wrong, me and GWB were tight and you can’t blame him for all of this mess, but the change we need should come from someone who can handle this mess and someone with more than “Chicago” experience.

Leave a Reply

