Death and What It Teaches Me

Today was such a sad day for me.  It made me realize my age.  I can’t believe I attended Mrs. Zaffiro’s funeral today.  I had so many memories of her, some that really made Gina and I laugh over the last few days. 

Her funeral today brought up so many feelings for me.  I of course had thoughts of my own screwed up relationship with my mom and was reminded today that it’s not “normal” to be estranged from your parent.  I wonder exactly how people can make such a statement?  Of course it was made not knowing the situation with my mom, Gina’s face was priceless and as usual she was able to turn the conversation in a totally different path real quick.  Thanks Gina!

I again today was reminded that Barb Zaffiro is what we all strive to be.  She was a loving mother, a loving wife, a great friend, a giver not a taker.  Wow, what more can you ask for in a person? 

I learned today what a real mom leaves behind.  I learned what true love looked like, Mr. Zaffiro’s heart is broken and it’s so sad.  I learned that none of us know when the last time we will get a chance to tell someone how we really feel.  Like Gina said today it would have been nice to have five minutes to tell her mom a few things.  I’ve decided to take my five minutes this week and tell my parents what I want them to know. 

Barb Zaffiro you were a class act and you will be missed by your husband, children, grandchildren and so many others.  I thank you for being the mom you were, I have been blessed for many years with your daughter as my friend and she wouldn’t be the person she is if it wasn’t for you!!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, friends, random thoughts, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Death and What It Teaches Me

  1. Gina says:

    YOU MADE ME CRY! That was awesome… thank you.

Leave a Reply

