“Our Week”

All weekend long I have thought about Melissa, and then tonight I went over to her My Space and she had written the nicest things about me.  For approximately the last 11 years her and I have shared this week as “Our Week”.  We have talked about two men who forever changed our lives, loved us, broke our hearts, and helped us become the best friends we are.  We have cried and laughed about Beau and Tony for 15 years.  “Our Week” starts October 4th and ends October 10th, the 4th is Tony’s birthday and the 10th is the day Beau died.  I’m reminded today that we are sure celebrating this week a lot healthier then we did “back in the day”.  We are blogging about it instead of drinking about it.  Talk about some personal growth.

I remember hiding in my apartment because my heart could not handle another disappointment.  I never wanted to date again, smile again, I was done with feeling anything for anybody.  Thank God Jerry Lee just wouldn’t accept that, he said “a friend” is going to call you and you are going to go out with her.  The rest is history.  A friendship like no other started that very night. 

I can honestly say I’ve never been mad or upset with Melissa one time.  We just fit.  As our lives changed so has our relationship, but we both know we have someone we can always count on.

Melissa and I talked about her losing Beau and how it had made her who she is, how ironic that in 1996 Tony would be gone also. 

I’ve wondered without these two losses who would we be?  There is no doubt that our paths would have crossed somehow, because God put that woman on this earth to be my best friend and I am thankful for that everyday.

When we are old and rocking on the front porch we’ll still be laughing about the “good ole’ days”.  We’ll still be thanking God he was looking out for us, especially the night Melissa thought I had disappeared out of the vehicle we were driving in.  The look on her face that night still makes me laugh until I snort.  Whenever I hear the words “big hair” my mind goes to Melissa, she could make me look like a close relative of Cousin It in a matter of minutes.  I’ll never pass a Perkins without Melissa coming to mind.  I can’t hear the song T-R-O-U-B-L-E without calling her and laughing.  I’ll never forget trying to explain to her that someone can’t love someone unless that person loves them, boy was I shallow and mean back then.  She got the last laugh on that subject and reminds me of that conversation when we are talking about the what ifs of life. 

Whether good or bad we have seen each other thru it all.  It started with nothing but fun, then she became my left hand raising Lena and Shane, then there was heartache with Tony’s death, marriage, divorce (ok divorces but whose counting), Baby James’ death, some more marriage and yeah then another divorce, lay offs, melanoma, more heartache (we really know how to pick them don’t we?), weight gain, but thru it all we have picked each other up, reminded each other of the inner strength and beauty we have and told everyone else to take a hike when we needed to.

I love ya Mel!!!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in friends, random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

