21 Years Ago Today

 

Twenty-one years ago I entered into the second toughest relationship of my life, being a mother in a mother daughter relationship is tough.  I remember looking in that perfect (yes I said perfect) little face and just knowing I would be the Mother of the Century.  The joke was on me. 

September 29, 1987 still to this day is the best day of my life.  I never knew love like that existed.  I had gone thru so much to get Lena into this world, pre-mature labor, toxema, placenta previa, gestational diabetes and that was just the beginning.  I remember getting a peek and then she was gone, she was headed to NICU and I was scared to death.  I was just shy of my 21st birthday and I never knew fear like that existed. 

Today I can’t help but think how differnt we are at 21.  She is single, living on her own, beautiful, has a great sense of style, is waiting for Mr. Right, not taking crap off of anyone, and enjoying life.  Yet we are so very alike, she is hard headed, strong willed, creative, loves to write, enjoys a great book, spending time alone comes very easily to her and tolerating her mother isn’t always easy.

I love this girl like no other, and she also has the ability to hurt my feelings like no other.  I will never underestimate her.  I will never quit worrying about her.  I will always love and respect her. 

Happy Birthday Lena Nicole!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, random thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

