Big Mud Puddles and Sunny Yellow Dandelions

Alyssa has an appointment on Wednesday the 16th at 11:00 a.m.  Praise God!  I am better, had a great night last night with Shaners.  He came for dinner and then hung around and played Wii.  I am afraid to list the blessings I got yesterday and today out of fear of forgetting someone, but if I forget you know I appreciate you I’m just brain challenged right now.  I had so many great emails, Sherri, Amber, Pastor Buriff, Kelly, Queen Mother, Linda, and Susan (I feel like I’m forgetting someone…ugh).  Had a great call with my Daddy, he reminded me to pray when we hung up the phone.  My Spare Mother called at the end of the day and she had added Alyssa to her prayer chain at church and I got a little bit of a mom and a little bit of a nurse all rolled into one and I felt peace when I got off the phone.  My “adult kids” both hung out with me and I got to giggle at my “adult son” screaming at the Wii game.  My wonderful husband had Alyssa calmed down by telling her that when they remove “her fungus” they will put her to sleep, of course this isn’t true and he’ll have to deal with that on Wednesday but at least she isn’t stressed.

Aunt Jeanette sent me the email below and it summed up exactly how I’ve been feeling for the past 24 hours so I thought I would share.

Thanks for the emails, phone calls, hugs and most of all the prayers!

Big Mud Puddles and Sunny Yellow Dandelions
             Author Unknown

When I look at a patch of dandelions, I see a bunch of weeds that are going to take over my yard.

My kids see flowers for Mom and blowing white fluff you can wish on.

When I look at an old drunk and he smiles at me, I see a smelly, dirty person who probably wants money and I look away

My kids see someone smiling at them and they smile back.

When I hear music I love, I know I can’t carry a tune and don’t have much rhythm so I sit self-consciously and listen.

My kids feel the beat and move to it. They sing out the words. If they don’t know them, they make up their own.

When I feel wind on my face, I brace myself against it I feel it messing up my hair and pulling me back when I walk.

My kids close their eyes, spread their arms and fly with it, until they fall to the ground laughing.

When I pray, I say thee and thou and grant me this, give me that.

My kids say, ‘Hi God! Thanks for my toys and my friends. Please keep the bad dreams away tonight Sorry, I don’t want to go to Heaven yet. I would miss my Mommy and Daddy.’

When I see a mud puddle I step around it. I see muddy shoes and dirty carpets.


My kids sit in it. They see dams to build, rivers to cross, and worms to play with.


I wonder if we are given kids to teach or to learn from? No wonder God loves the little children
!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Big Mud Puddles and Sunny Yellow Dandelions

  1. amber says:

    Hey lady. I am so swamped I can hardly think of what I”m doing at any given moment, but I have not stopped thinking about you. I keep checking in to see about ya, even though I know it’ll be a while before there is any news. Argh, the waiting ….. it sucks doesn’t it. Well, you are in my thoughts and prayers. Love ya.

  2. Karen R. says:

    You are all in my thoughts and prayers.
    Please let me know if there’s anything I can do!

  3. Alicia says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. You are in my thoughts and prayers. You have so much on your plate right now, but you still stopped by my blog to say hi. Thank you…you are a wonderful person, I can tell.

  4. Linda Alexander says:

    Well, now I know why I don’t fit in anywhere.
    I’M STILL A KID!!! All the things were me. I get exited in the spring to see dandilions…..remembering all the bouquets I have recieved over the years. Placed with care in my mothers antique vaaaaaase.
    I am so glad you remembered to mention me. It would have ruined my day if I were left out.
    I love you.
    Queen Mother

Leave a Reply

