Is There One In Every Neighborhood

Last night after I was tucked into bed here came the sirens.  Seems the neighbors across the street were at it again.  I have had to explain more things to Alyssa because of these folks and their squabbles.  We are not talking about young people, we are talking about a mother and her children (and I fear the mother is a teacher at our local highschool).  Don’t adults realize or care that young people (Alyssa is nine afterall) are watching their behavior?  Why would you fight, scream and cuss with the windows open, why would you walk up and down the street on your cell phone using profanity at the top of your lungs?  Think about your neighbors, think about the role model you should be to the young people in your neighborhood. 

I spent the morning with some awesome people at work today.  A group of folks that have passion for what we do and the clients we provide services for and I am refreshed and loving what I do.  When I tell folks I help seniors make decisions about Long Term Care, I always get a funny look.  I don’t think anyone realizes what a tough decision it is until it is their family member or loved one.  I am so proud that I work with people “who get it”. 

I am feeling VERY VERY BLESSED!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, friends, random thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is There One In Every Neighborhood

  1. Colette says:

    I think it would be fair to assume there is one in every neighbourhood; we have a smiliar family living close to us.

    They argue in their garden for all to hear but worst of all they have young children (around 3 & 5) and we often hear them being told to, ‘Clear off and play’ – but with much stronger language. Despite the fact they have a perfectly nice garden to play in the poor little ones are left wandering the streets. What hope do these kids have for the future when they’re just brushed aside like this?!

    I’m particularly shocked that a teacher is behaving in such a way, perhaps I’m just naive but I always believed that all teachers were ‘good’.

    It’s funny that people often don’t understand your work. I can only imagine how these people must be feeling when they reach a point where they have to make this kind of decision, it must be very emotional and I’m sure your guidance is appreciated.

  2. Rebecca says:

    When we lived at our old house, the neighbors across the street were the same way. They would scream and swear at each other on the front porch, throw things at each other as they ran up and down the steps and just have awful conversations on their phones. My landlord, who lived downstairs was a child molester. We found out much later, after moving in. His girlfriend was a drug addict and we were convinced would come into our apartment when we weren’t home to either look for something to steal or just hang out. It was not a good situation and I’m so glad we got out of there!

  3. kristy says:

    HI 🙂
    I got here following comments and links from Angie’s blog.
    I’ve read a few of your posts already and I’m bookmarking your blog. I need to update a blogroll on mine and fill it with my sisters in Christ.
    I hope you have a wonderful day!

  4. Colette is right, every neighborhood has one of those families living there. Growing up it was the family next to us!
    I can’t believe it’s a teacher either. I realize they are human just like us, but come one…

    You have the perfect personality for what you do Michelle. I believe that God has placed you there for a reason.

  5. Alicia says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. But more than anything thank you for praying for me.

Leave a Reply

