He Is A Great Dad!

My husband gets little to no chance to be a dad to his kids, it breaks my heart.  I think about why someone would not want Carl to have an influence in the lives of their kids and I just don’t get it.  The kids are getting to an age where they are busy, they don’t want to hang with their Dad and I wonder if they have any idea what they are missing.  Their mother goes out of her way to make visits and Carl’s involvement less and less, it’s a shame.  With that said Carl is a terrific dad to Alyssa, what her own father lacks in the parental department Carl makes up for.  God has a way of making things turn out, Carl doesn’t get to be a dad to his own kids and Alyssa doesn’t get to be a daughter to her birth dad, but the two of them have each other.  Carl is her dad and she is his daughter, thank God!! 

I decided that for Father’s Day I wanted to remember the relationsip that Carl had with James, our child.  I had the sketch drawn by Amber Hitsman and Carl said, “OH WOW.”  He loved it!!!

I sit today and watched Carl and Alyssa in the pool and it makes my heart feel good.  It’s just the three of us at home now and Alyssa is pretty excited to be an “only child”, she cracks me up.  Her innocent little comments make me think about Baby James and how different life would be if he was here. 

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, infant loss, random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

