How do you measure life?

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take,

but by the moments that take our breath away.”

I am going tomorrow and getting this picture framed.  My Alyssa was outside with the bad dog Doodle looking for worms when she came in for a potty break tonight and she said, “Mommy you would not believe the beautiful sunset.”  I can’t explain how this simple sentence stopped me in my tracks, all of a sudden Nancy Grace wasn’t my favorite t.v. show, SIS and my 100th post no longer mattered, getting ahold of Gina about the plant sale in the morning could wait.  Mini Me already had the camera and was headed out the door, I followed and she couldn’t believe how fast the sun had already gone down.  She explained that when she came to get the camera the sun had painted the fence a beautiful orange color and the sky was gorgeous.  I stood watching her and I was reminded the sun and Alyssa’s childhood have a few things in common.  She is growing up way too fast and she has for sure without a doubt made my life more beautiful.  In true Alyssa fashion we went from beautiful sunset and a “little moment” to hunting worms…I love love love this girl!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How do you measure life?

  1. Brenda Smith says:

    This is a great photo, but even a better moment in your life. Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

