organ donation

How many people have a plan for organ donation?  I know the wishes of my grown children and hope if God forbid ever faced with that situation I would honor their decision.  I’ve shared recently about a tragedy in my hometown and the reflection I’ve had about a young woman I didn’t even know.  I heard stories about her from three different women in my family and she sounded like a remarkable person.  If you are reading this in memory of Jennie Black Tarter please let your feelings about organ donations be known.  In Ohio we are able to put it directly on our licenses, but I also think you need to talk about your wishes and tell someone you trust that will carry out your wishes.  Aunt Jeannett reads my blog so she’ll take care of this for me if the need ever exist.  JENNIE THANK YOU!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, friends, random thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to organ donation

  1. dju316 says:

    Over half of the 99,000 Americans on the national transplant waiting list will die before they get a transplant. Most of these deaths are needless. Americans bury or cremate about 20,000 transplantable organs every year. Over 6,000 of our neighbors suffer and die needlessly every year as a result.

    There is a simple way to put a big dent in the organ shortage — give organs first to people who have agreed to donate their own organs when they die.

    Giving organs first to organ donors will convince more people to register as organ donors. It will also make the organ allocation system fairer. People who aren’t willing to share the gift of life should go to the back of the waiting list as long as there is a shortage of organs.

    Anyone who wants to donate their organs to others who have agreed to donate theirs can join LifeSharers. LifeSharers is a non-profit network of organ donors who agree to offer their organs first to other organ donors when they die. Membership is free at http://www.lifesharers.org or by calling 1-888-ORGAN88. There is no age limit, parents can enroll their minor children, and no one is excluded due to any pre-existing medical condition.

Leave a Reply

