I love surprises, I love old pictures and I love my aunt!

Aunt G told me yesterday that I had a surprise coming and I couldn’t wait.  I got it today!  A big envelope of old pictures, boy did they bring great memories and they also made me think about how this world has changed, let’s see.

  1. Our entire lives a shotgun sit in the corner of our grandparents kitchen, we never touched it.
  2. In 1968 you could take a picture of a toddler without panties on and no one thought you were a pervert.

I now have a picture of myself with both of my parents, pretty sad one picture that I will love having.  This serves as a reminder that my kids won’t care if I was fat, having a bad hair day etc. they will appreciate the picture someday.

These pictures remind me of some of the best memories I have as a child and I’m not at Disney World, the mall, a movie theater or a skating rink.  I am with people who loved me and who I trusted.  My grandparents weren’t wealthy but they were “good people”.  My grandmother worked harder then anyone I knew, the only time I think she was ever really mad at me was when she thought I was trying to get out of hanging clothes on the clothes line, boy she was mad.  She felt so bad when she realized I really had never hung clothes on a clothes line..ha!  These pictures remind me where my love of reading comes from, we would sit on Granny’s front porch and read books for hours, our aunts bought us the whole Nancy Drew series over the years for Christmas and birthdays.  I learned to appreciate having a hobby at Granny’s, she crocheted and quilted and to this day I still like to wrap up in a quilt she made me.  Most importantly I learned about family from my grandparents, I learned that no matter what your family should stand by you.  Wow I had a good cry looking at the pictures today, one of those cries that remind you how old you really are getting and how much you have to be appreciative of!  THANKS AUNT G!  CAN’T WAIT TO SCRAPBOOK THESE.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in family, photography, random thoughts, scrapbooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

