It’s All About The Blankets!

Many of you have seen the picture above and you know what that picture means to me.  For those of you who don’t know, it’s Baby James’ foot and Carl’s hand.  This picture was taken 2/28/05 and sitting here today I can still remember it all as if it was yesterday.  This picture is cropped so what you can’t make out is the blanket in the picture.  It’s just an ordinary hospital issued receiving blanket, that blanket is one of my most treasured possessions.  Carl “stole” that blanket from the hospital because of course he didn’t know all the gifts the hospital would give us from Baby James and he wanted me to have a part of Baby James to have with me.  I used that blanket for six months to fall asleep, today the blanket has mascara on it, you can still see the rings from the wetness of the tears I cried night after night.  So when I found a blog recently of a woman I never have met I was thrilled to be able to help her.  She is having a BLANKET PARTY to provide blankets for children in Ethiopia.  Please visit her blog and if you feel lead to make a donation in Baby James’ memory please let me know.  As I have done every year I’ll be making a scrap book page about how I celebrated his life and I would like to include the Blanket Party.  So many of us take the blessings we are given everyday for granted.  Have any of you ever thought how lucky you were just to have a blanket to wrap your baby in at the hospital?  With Lena, Shane and Alyssa I couldn’t wait to get them wrapped in the beautiful blanket I brought from home and can even remember thinking how ugly that flannel pink and blue striped blanket was, but that all changed on 2/28/05.  I don’t sleep with that blanket any longer, it’s put away with all of Baby James’ stuff but this morning I got it out and had a good ole fashion cry.  I thank God for a husband who thought of something so little and as always I thank God for that little angel that is waiting in heaven for me.  Let’s try to lighten the load for a mother all the way across the world, let’s give her a blanket of her own.  God Bless!!!
About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s All About The Blankets!

  1. really good one and thanks for it.

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

Leave a Reply

