December 1st Finally!

image01.jpg

I have been so anxious for December 1st, I start an online journaling class on December 1st http://www.shimelle.com/classes/, Alyssa and I start our countdown to Christmas and our kickoff is going to be making homemade fudge.  I’m sure I’ll have pictures.  My trees are up, my bathroom is decorated, my outside lights are started (Carl’s a little behind), I have five or six packages already wrapped and under the tree.  I love Christmas!  Carl has nicknamed me Mrs. Clause and I like it.  I’m thankful for Christmas and I hope this year I can really concentrate on teaching Alyssa that Christmas is really about Christ, not the presents.  Hope you enjoy this picture, I would say it was taken around December of 1968 or 1969.  The picture is taken at my Granny Christian’s House, that cute brunette is my cousin Kathryn and those nightgowns well I wish I knew who to blame, I’m going to point the finger at Aunt Jeanette until she corrects me.  Believe me through the years there were matching nightgowns, dresses, you name it.  I look at that tree behind our heads and I can see the money enevelopes that hung on it every year, that is what Papa did and then Granny always did socks and underwear.  The trees were always cut down right there on the farm.  I have an ornament on my tree that Granny gave me before she died and it’s so special to me because it hung on these little trees in her living room, she actually thought it might have been an ornament from when she was young.  As we all struggle with the worries we have every Christmas try to remember when your kids are 40 they’ll be remembering the trees, the family and the love…my favorite gifts came from my Granny-knitted house shoes every year, afghans, quilts, wall hangings you name it she made it for us and I think that’s where I get my love of crafting and giving. 

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Christmas, scrapbooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 1st Finally!

  1. Sherri says:

    Yes, the good ole days….My granny also gave socks every year.
    I love the picture MIchelle. My cousin and I also were dressed alick and also had same haircutes.

  2. Kat says:

    Is that me in that pic. with you? Love ya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

