52 New Recipes in 2010 Week 1

Well I started my 52 recipes in 2010 challenge this past weekend and can I just say YUMMY!  I’ve been sick for a week so I haven’t cooked at all; so when I started moving around in the kitchen Mr. Wonderful was a happy man.

I still need recipes you can see my list so far right here.  If you would like me to add one of your favorite recipes please leave me a comment; I will add any recipes I think my bunch will eat.

The first thing I made was Santa Fe soup and I didn’t get any pictures. I stole borrowed the idea from Joy’s Hope and she has some pictures…yummy!  I asked for grades The Baby Girl gave it an A, Mr. Wonderful gave it a B.  It will be made again…did I mention SUPER EASY?

Santa Fe Soup

Ingredients
 
1 lb. ground beef or turkey brownned and drained
1 can kidney beans
2 cans Ro-tel
1 can stewed Mexican style tomatoes
1 can corn (drained)
2 Tbs. taco seasoning
16 0z. Velveeta cubed
Dump everything in your crockpot, cook on high for three hours; stir once after an hour and a half.
Mr. Wonderful was so excited I was in the kitchen I decided to really “WOW” him with dessert….lucky guy.

Apple Dumplings

Ingredients:

2 cans crescent rolls
2 granny smith apples
1 stick butter
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/3 cup splenda (or sugar)
1 (12 oz) diet Mountain Dew

Directions

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees

Peel and core apples.  Cut each apple into 8 wedges.  Roll each wedge in a crescent roll.  Place rolls in a 9 x 13 baking dish.  In small saucepan melt butter.  Once melted add splenda (or sugar) and cinnamon.  Mix well.  Spoon over crescent rolls.  Pour diet Mountain Dew over rolls.  Bake for 45 minutes.

I also saw this recipe over at Pioneer Woman her version called for sugar, regular Mountain Dew….I love that girl…..I stuck to the “lite” version; but wanted to give you a choice.

The Baby Girl gave this an A+ and Mr. Wonderful another B, I did ask him what it would take to get an A….this being a kid friendly blog I can’t repeat what he said…..

I’ll be sharing this post at……

 Blessed with Grace

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in 52 recipes in 2010 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 52 New Recipes in 2010 Week 1

  1. Katie says:

    Mmmm both of these sound so good! But I’m so confused why the apples require the Mt. Dew…hmmm…I guess I’ll just go with it!

  2. jhoop says:

    Did you pick that recipe because of the Mt. Dew? Come on, you know you did. For my favorite recipes, follow this link to BOBEVANS.COM

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

    Love ya,

  3. How fun. I have never made apple dumplings and I have all of these ingredients!! Yea me! Thanks for linking to TMTT.

  4. Sherri says:

    Soup sounds really good thinking how I can make it vegetarian. I really like Panera breads corn soup. YUM! I got me some cook books from the libarary I’m gonna try to add some new recipes this year also. Good challenge.

  5. Holy Cow this looks so good and so easy! Im going to try it out this weekend with the kiddos.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

