Junk to Jewel…

I am so happy with my old ugly window. 

I spent $0 and didn’t sew!!!  Here is what I did.

I spray painted it with black matte paint, used a sander to distress it.  Hung it from a wide red velvet ribbon.  Used old garland, folded one piece in half so it would be a little fuller.  Ran wide red ribbon and a thinner pattern ribbon through the garland, tied it with florist wire.  Cut the burlap to the size I needed (size would depend on the size of your letters I think), grabbed my largest alphabet stamps and stamped on the burlap with permanent black ink.  I was going to sew the banner, but decided to try to do a no sew.  I folded the burlap over another pattern ribbon.

See the pins, I pinned it until the glue dried…….when my First Born came up the steps and said, “That is awesome.”  I knew I had achived success.

I grabbed the berries off of another wreath and the jewel was finished.  I think tomorrow I will have to spend a few dollars for a few more berries, I want to add one more bunch to the right side.

I’ll be linking to a few blogs this week with my junk to jewel project!

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

DIY Day @ ASPTL

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Christmas, thrift stores and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Junk to Jewel…

  1. Totally awesome, girl! I really like how the edges of the glass aren’t perfectly clean as well. Adds to the funk. :)

    Thanks for linking up!

    FJ Donna

  2. jhoop says:

    when you first showed the window I thought “that would be in rumpke’s dump if it were me. I cannot believe what you did to it. It amazes me that someone can look at something, like that old window, and see it as something completely awesome. I love it.

    Love ya,

  3. Sherri says:

    LOVE IT!!!!!

  4. Pingback: Get Your Craft On « Paper Glue Etc.

  5. gail says:

    cute idea! I love old windows!
    gail

  6. Pingback: Met Monday-Message Board « Paper Glue Etc.

  7. Pingback: Old Window Crafts « Paper Glue Etc.

Leave a Reply

