Diaper (Cake) Duty

If anyone would have told me four years ago I’d be writing a post about being hooked on Diaper Cakes I would have strangled them.  I couldn’t walk down a baby aisle, I couldn’t hold a baby, I couldn’t walk by a baby in a stroller without my heart hurting.  I had entered into “that club”, you know the one….I had a baby in heaven and I was BITTER.  Check out all the other Hooked on Friday post.

I wish I knew the moment my heart started healing, but I don’t.  I think it happened gradually.  I had always been a baby person, I loved babies, I love pregnant women, I couldn’t wait to hold every pink skinned, sweet smelling, blue eyed cooing baby I could get my hands on.  I wanted that feeling back so badly.

Last year I attended my first baby shower after Baby James’ death and I enjoyed it, I remember crying on the way home because I was so relieved. 

Then earlier this year we found out two close friends were expecting, just days apart.  They will both become mommies in late November and we are thrilled.  I decided I would try a diaper cake, do you know how much time you spend in numerous baby departments when shopping for a baby cake?  Here is what we came up with.

DSCF9019-1

I can’t take the credit for this masterpiece without giving a shout out to The Baby Girl.  She paid attention to every little detail and rolled a ton of diapers!

DSCF9007-1

We have no doubt that Libby will be a Drama Queen!

DSCF9017

The pink shoes were by far my favorite thing!

I searched for hours on diaper cake ideas, you can see a lot of different versions at this post.  We have another shower in a few weeks, not sure what we are going to do for that shower.  I do know though that whatever we decide we’ll have fun doing it and even more fun spoiling these two little babies.

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, infant loss, life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diaper (Cake) Duty

  1. So adorable!! You are welcome to pass a little of that creativity my way :)

  2. jhoop says:

    Adorable!!!!

  3. June Butler says:

    Too cute! Awesome job… I love it!

  4. Jessica G. says:

    WOW! Now THAT is a diaper cake! Amazing job and by far the best one I’ve ever seen!

  5. Pingback: Best of 2009 « Paper Glue Etc.

  6. Janice pope says:

    These Diaper cakes are getting really popular this year – love the work was going to design one for my niece she lives in the UK but found this site Nappy Cakes Gift they have some nice gifts.

Leave a Reply

