Girlfriends

“Even though we’ve changed and we’re all finding our own place in the world, we all know that when the tears fall or the smile spreads across our face, we’ll come to each other because no matter where this crazy world takes us, nothing will ever change so much to the point where we’re not all still friends.”

 

Today was such an unbelievable day for me.  I love a day when God is so clear.  I had lunch with one of my oldest friends in the world today, we talked, we laughed and we ate chinese food…sounds perfect doesn’t it?  I was reminded how far I’ve come not only as a human being but as a woman.  I know who I am, I love who I am! 

 

I had so much goodness today I think this is a perfect Beautiful Life post.

 

It rained all day, I started out with great hair and as the day went on and on it looked horrible.  I had to be at a funeral at 6:00 p.m. and a wedding at 7 p.m.  Yes, I’m serious.  No one wants bad hair, but you really don’t want it when you think you might have to be in the presence of your ex husband. 

 

I hate doing my hair.  I wish I could be in a forever ponytail.  I did my hair twice today.  I didn’t have to see my ex husband, that alone was a blessing from God.  I got to the funeral was able to spend time with some people I down right love and he was running late.  I heard he was on his way and I left. 

 

The funeral was just that a funeral.  I never did go near the casket, but I heard “Papa Don” looked good.  I’m sure he actually just looked dead and I’ve never seen a dead person who looked good, but we always say that at a funeral don’t we?  I’ve known Papa Don since I was a young teenager, I knew his late wife and she was an awesome woman.  I remember sitting up late one night talking to her and I told her how embarrassed I was about how I had handled my divorce.  I can still hear her laugh.  I’ll never forget how freeing it was when I heard this wonderful classy woman tell me that if a man had ever done to her what had been done to me she’d make him pay for the rest of his life.  She got it.  She didn’t think about my ex husband who she loved dearly, she didn’t think about the home wrecker that had turned my life upside down…she thought about my children.  She knew my mama heart, she knew I wanted to make it right for my kids and I couldn’t.  I clung to that conversation when I was being bad mouthed for years, I knew that if no one else understood that wonderful woman “got it”.  I love her kids and tonight I couldn’t help but think those kids are the awesome human beings they are because of their mother.

 

For years I had such trust issues, that is the understatement of the year.  I continued to find relationships that were just down right toxic.  I couldn’t get away from drama.  I wanted more then anything to find security and it just wasn’t in the picture.  I wish I could say when that changed, but I really don’t remember.  I just know it has.

 

I have a healthy marriage, not a perfect marriage just a healthy one.  I have girlfriends that are beyond AMAZING. 

 

DSCF9022

(Pictured above-Nikki, Me, Sherri and Vicky)

 

I actually asked Mr. Wonderful to take this picture tonight, now that is L-O-V-E.  I hate having my picture taken, but I wanted to take this picture to send with Vicky to the Mayo Clinic.  Our girl is going there to continue with her “Save The Tatas Battle”, she is kicking some cancer butt and she amazes me.  The strength and the faith this girl has showed is surely a “God Thing”.  You go girl!  Wait until you see the pictures next week of Sherri and Vicky skydiving!  I’ll be on the ground with the camera.  PRAYING!

 

It was Amber’s big day today, well her big day was last Saturday but the reception was tonight.  I have to say I had the thought tonight that time is just flying by.  It seems like yesterday The First Born and Amber were little girls, I can still hear Mr. Perfect and Amber fighting like brother and sister.  How is she a married woman?

 

DSCF9026

I see these young girls and I wonder what the future holds for all of them.  I hope God surronds them with strong women who will be there in good and bad times. 

DSCF9038

These two girls are being raised by Mamas who know how important girlfriends are, Mamas who are teaching them to be strong women.  I hope someday we’ll be sitting at their wedding reception watching them start a life with Christian men who will love, honor and cherish them.  You know what I don’t hope for that, I stand firm in my belief in Jesus Christ that these two will find the happiness that they so deserve. 

I have a lot going on in life right now and some of it has me confused, hurt and angry and I’m trying to figure out what my next step is.  I’ll keep praying about it and when the going gets too tough for me I’ll reach out to those God given gifts….my girlfriends!

I am taking The First Born out for her 22nd birthday tomorrow, I can not believe I have had that child in my life for 22 years.  I still remember the first time I looked down into that little face and finally knew what it felt like to love something with my entire heart.  She is an amazing daughter!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, friends, grief, life, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girlfriends

  1. jhoop says:

    You make me cry, but in a good way. I was sitting here feeling sorry for myself. Boo Hoo, poor Hooper……….. I love you!

    jhoop

  2. amber says:

    These are great pics. Amber is a beautiful bride. Shoot, she’s a beautiful girl. It does seem like just the other day she was a little bitty girl. I don’t know why we weren’t at the reception. Actually, I don’t think we got an invitation so maybe that’s why. Or if we got one Brian never told me. Is skydiving just a week away. Oh my ….

Leave a Reply

