WFMW-Crock Pot Ideas

works for me Wednesday

I have not been using my crockpot and it’s made for some long nights at my house.  I work until 6:00 many nights so who wants to eat at 7:30?  I thought crockpot cooking would be a great post for Works For Me Wednesday, make sure you stop by and see what works for everyone else.

Yesterday I planned ahead and made one of our favorite crockpot meals.  We call it crockpot chicken, pretty original huh?

Crockpot Chicken

1 whole chicken

Seasoning (I used Bay Leaves, Mrs. Dash, and Onion Powder)

Cook the chicken on low if you are cooking it all day, on high if you only have 4-5 hours.

When you get home take the chicken out of the crock pot to cool. 

Combine 2 cans of cream of chix or mushroom(I use the healthy choice ones), small container of sour cream and jar of mushrooms (optional of course), and I add 1 can of milk-the amount of milk is a personal choice depending on how thick or thin you want the sauce.  Cook on high for about an hour or until hot.

Serve over rice or noodles. 

I’m looking for crockpot recipes, especially low fat.  Here are a few websites I’ve found, feel free to leave me links to others.

A Year of Slow Cooking

Crockpot 101

Chili Verde

Chef Mom

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in cooking, family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WFMW-Crock Pot Ideas

  1. I absolutely love my crockpot! Makes life so much easier, I think.

    Great post – thanks for sharing!

  2. Jen says:

    Sounds good. I lurve my crockpot.
    You know, I’ve never cooked a whole chicken in my crockpot before– not sure why. I’ll have to give it a try.

    Happy Wednesday!

  3. sandyspell says:

    I love cooking out of a crockpot, and your blog reminded me I haven’t done that in years! When I worked, I used to cook roasts, and many other meals in there for dinner later.

    Sandy

  4. Struggler says:

    I love my crockpot, but I do have only a small selection of recipes that I like for it.
    Love the sound of this wrong: how can mushrooms go wrong!

  5. Kelly B. says:

    I’ll have to email you my white chili recipe for this fall. It’s yummy and a family favorite around here. Another really easy one is to put boneless pork chops in the crock pot and cover with Montgomery Inn barbecue sauce. I pour a enough to keep the chops completely swimming in it. Cook on low for 5-6 hours. Yummy!

  6. Blaise says:

    Hey girl! This is like the 4th time you’ve told me about this recipe. I think I’m going to have to break down and try it. I’ll make it on a night when hubby won’t be home since he’s the picky eater. I’ll let you know…:)

  7. j says:

    i make a similar recipe but i use one can of cream of mushroom and one can of french onion soup with no other seasoning. i then serve the chix with mashed potatoes, veggies and cranberry sauce.

Leave a comment