Mother

I admit Mother’s Day isn’t one of my favorite holidays, hasn’t been for many years.  Most people who feel that way have a mother in heaven, not me.  My mother lives a couple of miles away, I won’t see her on Mother’s Day.  I haven’t seen her or talked to her in years.  I use to tell people I was ok with that, I’m not.  How could I be?  I got ripped off in the mother department.  Sad, but so very true.  I wish I could say it isn’t hurtful, I can’t.  I wish I could say that my mother not loving me is no big deal, I can’t.  I wish even more that I could say my mother being hurtful to my children is something I can forgive, I can’t.  I’m often asked how I keep from being angry and bitter.

It’s simple.  God gave me a spare mother.  She isn’t a stepmother, she isn’t my Daddy’s wife, she is my spare mother.  I believe in my heart that God knew I needed her and He sent her.  I thank Him for that on a regular basis. 

She is the birthday card sender, the Christmas gift shopper, the Thanksgiving meal cooker, the advice giver when a grandchild is ill, the heart mender when needed, the ever faithful God seeking example setter, and the ever loving mother and grandmother to our entire family.

dscf1641

She has been my spare mother legally for 20 years, but long before my daddy married her she became my spare mother.  She never made me feel anything but welcomed and loved, even when I didn’t deserve it.  Daddy traveled and when he wasn’t home I still stayed at their house because of her. 

She is a woman of faith and anytime The Baby Girl has something to share about her walk with The Lord she wants to call Nanny.  We called home for Easter and The Baby Girl talked to her Papaw and told him about Easter baskets, egg hunts etc., but when Nanny got on the phone and asked her what she was doing she said with a big smile, “Celebrating the cross.”  At 10 she already knows her grandmother is a Godly woman and she wants to share her love for The Lord with her. 

dscf8165

When Nanny comes for a visit we make sure our clothes and house are clean.  Our hair looks its best.  I watch my mouth because whether you are a 20 year old grandson or a 42 year old daughter bad words are not acceptable. 

Nanny will flat get in your business, just ask the grandsons.  She wants you to live up to your potential, she wants you to have a better life then she had. 

Nanny is the backbone of our family.  She loves us unconditionally. 

I thank God that He blessed me with a spare!

This post is part of a world wide blogging tribute to Moms led by TheBlogFrog

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, life, marriage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mother

  1. awwwwwwww… how sweet!

    I dunno what is up with my button… you should be able to add an html tab on your sidebar and cut and paste the link from my button grabber… email me and I can help figure it out! I would be honored for you to have Ky’s button on your site :)

  2. jujube says:

    How blessed you are……..and how aware of it……so good that you can acknowledge God’s provision of this special mother for you.

  3. A beautiful post. I feel that way about Father’s Day. I’m glad you have such a fine woman in your life. God is good.~~Dee

  4. jhoop says:

    I love my Mom but God also gave me another one. She is my MOTHER IN LAW. I know, roll your eyes, pull your hair, look at me like I’m nuts, but I really, really love my MIL. She is my friend, my husband’s mom, my kid’s granny. We fight, we get over it. We tell it like it is and get on with it. We have lived across the street from each other for 24 years and I hope for another 24.

  5. Holly Hamann says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your 2nd Mother! I wanted you to know that we (TheBlogFrog) received your Mothers Day submission and this post will be linked to our site in a list of Favorite Moms – blog posts that others have sent us about their moms. Thanks for honoring your special mom on Mother’s Day!

  6. Mama Bird says:

    I can so relate to your relationship with your own mother. My mother and I are also estranged. I only wish that God would bring me a 2nd Mom as awesome as yours’!

Leave a Reply

