Casey County and Christmas

We are home and I have to say I am a little sad.  It happens sometimes when I leave Casey County and come home.  I don’t think it would be so bad if I got down there more often.  It’s silly things that make me realize how far 198 miles really makes me. 

This was Tate Christmas 2007.

dscf1625

Tate Christmas 2008.  dscf6903

It’s Tate being this big in 2008 and me enjoying him thru my camera lense because he doesn’t know me and I couldn’t pick him up and squeeze him that reminds me I miss out on the little things. 

It’s Lyss wanting to spend time with Papaw without me and it just not being possible because it’s too far away.  She is sad tonight and that makes me sad.

dscf6899

Papaw giving her a Texas Holdem lesson, I’m sure at nine there is a reason she needs to know how to play poker. 

dscf6898

Jordan innocently saying he wouldn’t recognize Lena on the street.  How sad is that? 

dscf6901

I have to end on a funny note, Gus the kitty at Mikey’s house is in for a long life.  Tate loves him, but Gus is stupid enough to keep coming back for more of Tate’s love.

dscf6900

So tonight I am sad.  I was thinking on the drive home tonight that I feel sad when I leave there because I have nothing but good memories.  It’s there that I learned what a family really is.  It’s there that I learned about unconditional love.  It’s there that I learned how to pick strawberries (Kat I threw that in for your benefit..love ya).  It’s there that I developed my love of books.  It’s there that the foundation of my faith was built.  It’s there that I learned normalcy. 

I was reminded sitting around the table at Aunt G’s that I got ripped off in the “mom department”, but God really blessed me with good women in my life.  My three aunts, my step-mother and my most favorite person in the world my grandmother, when I leave Casey County I leave them.  I leave them physically, but who I am is in part to those women.

Pray for Kitty Gus!

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in Christmas, faith, family, life, random thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Casey County and Christmas

  1. Kat says:

    Wish we were picking strawberries. Love ya.

  2. Lori says:

    You know…the same thing happens when I go ‘home’ too. I think it’s natural. It was such a huge part of our lives. It was where we felt secure. Funny, I don’t know about you, but when I was growing up I couldn’t wait to get out of there. Now, I wish I could go back…

Leave a comment