I’ve Learned In 42 Years

I was thinking today that at 42 do I really know anymore then I knew at 21.  I was thinking this because Lena turned 21 last month and I think Lena is a mature 21 and has a good idea of what people are all about, I can’t remember having that at 21.  After all I celebrated my 21st birthday at home breastfeeding Lena while my husband was out getting drunk with his friends.  My 21st birthday was also the only time I’ve ever had to convince myself that my friend’s husband was just joking when he made a pass at me.  Yeah 21 and pretty dumb.

So at 42 am I any smarter?  I don’t know…heres what I think I know at 42 that I didn’t know at 21…

  • Someone telling you they love you doesn’t mean anything, someone showing you they love you means everything.
  • Telling people how you feel isn’t always the best thing to do.  Especially if you are expecting them to love you anyway.
  • There is more to being a mother then giving birth.
  • What doesn’t kill you will make you stronger.
  • Pregnancy isn’t something to be taken for granted, getting pregnant is a gift, having a healthy baby is not a guarantee.
  • Burying a child is something you “never get over”.
  • What God doesn’t give you in a family he can make up for in friends.
  • God is good!
  • Money doesn’t make you happy.
  • Paying a car off feels really good.
  • Being fat sucks, being on a diet sucks.
  • I hate exercise.
  • Forgiveness is the best gift you can give yourself.
  • The easiest way to get over a heartache is not to get even, but to live well. 
  • Faith is believing what we can’t see.
  • Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian anymore then going to McDonalds makes you a Big Mac.
  • Happy Birthday sang in Japaness is really funny, it being done in a restraunt makes you want to climb under the table.

I am looking forward to my 42nd year….imagine what I’ll know in another 21…..

About Michelle

I started my blog as a way to connect with other paper crafters and of course it has gone a totally different direction. I've been able to share my experience as a mother, my hurt and disappointments over not having a relationship with my maternal unit, my walk with God and how knowing Him has changed me and continues to help me grow into the person I strive to be......
This entry was posted in faith, family, friends, infant loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve Learned In 42 Years

  1. Sara Alvey says:

    Hi Michelle! I love the “being fat sucks, being on a diet sucks!”. I have struggled with my weight for a few years now so I feel your pain.
    I am looking for more news from you…

  2. Lori says:

    Happy Birthday!! I love you and cherish your friendship so much. You are an amazing woman!!

  3. Alicia says:

    You are so right…being fat sucks, being on a diet sucks! I’ve batteled my weight forever it seems!

    I had problems getting to your site for a while so I stopped coming by. I’m glad I can now see how you are doing. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am praying for more news from you.

    Happy Birthday a little late.

  4. Lizzie says:

    Happy Birthday! This is a good idea for a post:)!

    Thanks for linking to Works of God Weekend!

Leave a Reply

